Reviews for: W. Rogowski Farm

Average Review:

8 reviews



Pleasant suprise
By: Catherine Portka    (Feb 26, 2012)

I saw their advertisement in the paper and took a ride. While I was there I picked up some milk for my little son. When I got home I realized it had cream in it. Delish! I've only heard from my mom about milk having cream in it. Never had that before. Kind of sad. I can't wait for the growing season! Cashier was nice and next time I will try out the brunch.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Catherine Portka says:    (Feb 26, 2012)

Sorry i meant to put more stars

says:    (Mar 1, 2012)

Glad to see the correction on the stars. This is one of my favorite farms precisely because it is so authentic. Not to mention the fact that the owner has been a catalyst for farm recovery in the Pine Island area after last year's storms. She is a gem and so is the farm.



It's a farm, not a supermarket
By:    (Jan 19, 2011)

This is my second review of the Rogowski farm, and I continue to believe that it is one of the best around. One of the values of being part of a CSA is that you become intimately acquainted with the realities of farming. The variables, like too much/too little sun, rain, heat, cold, etc. shape the produce.

In real family farms, people eat what is available, depending on such uncontrollable things as weather, feral animals, labor issues, and time of year. That is the essence of the CSA experience. You become, at least for a few hours, like the pioneers who wrenched a living from the soil. You enjoy the freshness of the spring berries, or the harshness of the late winter turnip. Then, come spring, the berries return. Or, the rains wash out the berry crop and you are left with scapes or scallions.

Unlike a supermarket, which can reject less than perfect looking tomatoes, or jack up the price for the few that look perfect [regardless of flavor or the lack of it], a farm family lives with the results of weather, labor, and time. Overripe? make sauce or jelly. Underripe? make pickles or fried green tomatoes. There is an intimacy with one's food that can only be experienced among the less-than-perfect examples in the famer's baskets.

I have found the folks at Rogowski's to be kind, friendly, helpful and polite. They work hard so that we non-farm folks can have a taste - both literally and figuratively - of real food, and of the life that brings that food out of the earth.

Enjoy your CSAs for what they are, a source of local produce,organically grown, and seasonally offered. Otherwise, you may seek out the perfect plastic, foods that have traveled half way around the world, consuming vast amounts of fuel in the process.

For this reviewer, I'll cherish an over-ripe Rogowski tomato over the picturesque plastic-wrapped imports any day.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Terrible customer service
By: Beth Dubas    (Jan 13, 2011)

We set up a CSA group,because the farm agreed to supply us. Spoke a few times and then TOTALLY stopped getting in tough. Didn't even have the decency to tell us why we couldn't participate in their Not how one should do business.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Jan 19, 2011)

Timing is of the essence. Farm work is seasonal. When it is time to plant, weed, or harvest, there is little time for correspondence.

Cheryl Rogowski says:    (Mar 6, 2012)

This is when my Mom was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and all of our lives were dedicated to her and the little time we had left. Mom passed away on April 15, 2011. Thank you to all the folks who supported us as we took care of her.



truth be told...
By: Elise Bruzzo Dohrmann    (Sep 17, 2010)

You can also find Rogowski produce at the Warwick farmers market on Sundays through October on South Street parking lot -- they have beautiful produce that is organically grown. There are tons of farmers markets around Orange County on almost any given day. You won't find any pesticides or preservatives at Rogowskis and so the produce may not be so 'perfect', or plump and hole free -- like the pesticide ridden stuff at the supermarket. If that's what you are looking for, then you can continue shopping at your local supermarket and you'd be sure of eating that much. Rogowski also has a huge walkin cooler where you can find the freshest produce, eggs and the like!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Sep 23, 2010)

Let me know when you are hitting this place for the fresh stuff?



SORRY DON'T WAIST YOUR TIME
By:    (Sep 12, 2010)

I drove quite a distance from Middletown, NY to try some organics. As I pulled in I had realized I had been here before .for a Tomato festival. 2 years ago and never went back. All of the tomato's were over ripen . Since I drove all the way I decided to give the farm store a try. Wow all of the produce was limp and not fresh, tomato's I had to pick through to try and find some that were worth buying. I am not sure if I am just hitting the timing wrong with this farm ,but I would not drive all the way from Middletown, NY again. This is my seconds visit where I went two years ago and found out for sure the drive is not worth my time. I also went off the reviews not sure where they are getting it is so great. After not being back in 2 year and to still get the same limp produce I was quite disappointed. I love subporting my local farmer ,but I not going to drive for limp soft veggies.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Elise Bruzzo Dohrmann says:    (Sep 17, 2010)

I suggest you find a local farmers market and talk to the farmers and learn.



Black Dirt Gourmet at W.Rowgowski's
By: NJP Thompson    (Jul 14, 2009)

A commercial kitchen is on site in the barn where chef-created farm-fresh catering and "Black Dirt Gourmet" label foods are available: a unique set-up that raises the bar when evaluating the freshness and nutrition of farm market food. You won't be disappointed with the outstanding homemade deserts, soups, and condiments made there to compliment a complete selection of seasonal produce. Rustic barn decor cafe offers Sat am made to order breakfast/brunch and local crafts including ceramic garlic keepers.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Black Dirt Gourmet at W.Rowgowski's
By: NJP Thompson    (Jul 14, 2009)

A commercial kitchen is on site in the barn where chef-created farm-fresh catering and "Black Dirt Gourmet" label foods are available: a unique set-up that raises the bar when evaluating the freshness and nutrition of farm market food. You won't be disappointed with the outstanding homemade deserts, soups, and condiments made there to compliment a complete selection of seasonal produce. Rustic barn decor cafe offers Sat am made to order breakfast/brunch and local crafts including ceramic garlic keepers.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A REAL farm - no frills, no fancies, just good food
By: Barbara M. Kelly    (Apr 7, 2009)

The folks at Rogowski's have kept the value of farming alive and well. The barn is old, the baskets and barrels worn, and the people, WONDERFUL, smiling, informed, and willing to share. The vegetables are beautiful and flavorful. I have been a farm stand shopper at this farm for several years and have just joined it as my CSA. I look forward to a summer of pleasure.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review