Reviews for: Cheyennes Country Thangs

Average Review:

63 reviews



Wonderful Place!!
By: Diana Pfeuffer    (Jul 14, 2011)

Myself, my daughter, my friend and her daughter always look forward to making our weekly trek to Cheyenne's for our co-op. This organic co-op has been such a wonderful experience for us all. My daughter loves to go and pick out fresh produce and look at all the flowers and plants. I love the variety and unique items that Lisa carries. Many of the things I have bought, I have never seen in a supermarket. I have bought things such as purple potatoes, Japanese sweet potatoes, rainbow carrots and many other things that we have grown to love but would have never been able to try them had it not been for Lisa obtaining them for the co-op. I am an avid cook and I love to experiment with the various organic vegetables, etc that she has offered at the co-op. I was diagnosed with MS over a year ago and have chosen to go a healthier lifestyle and diet to help treat my dis-ease. Thanks to Cheyenne's Country Thangs, I have been able to feed my family well and keep them healthy with all natural organic items. I also love the fact that they help educate us about the plants and flowers they carry and how to care for them. Their compost tea is awesome! I cannot say enough good things about this market.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome Place
By: Lloyd Monds    (Jul 13, 2011)

We found Cheyennes Country Thangs about 6 months ago and it has been a great experience. The vegetables and the beef are awesome. You can tell by the taste that it is different than the stuff at the grocery store.

After I mentioned that I have a friend dying with a brain tumor, they offered to help. Lisa and Darryl are awesome people. They do business like the old days. They care. They are honest and they give you more than you expect on each visit.

Lisa always has a sample of something for you to try or is giving you something to eat. She is a walking wealth of knowledge. You can't go wrong checking out this market!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A satisfied customer...over and over again
By:    (Jul 13, 2011)

Overt he years I have belonged to a few co-ops with varying degree of satisfaction. I can say without any reservation at all that Cheyenne's is the best by far. The selection and quality is superior to most retail organic markets. Selection like you'll find here is a rarity with a co-op. Then there are the homemade take home selections that are out of this world. I have even made a request for an item and it was fulfilled...unheard of! This co-op is also run on the honor system. Once the method of selection is explained to you then you fill your basket or bag and no one questions you...ever. I appreciate this as it reminds me of an era gone by. I am so happy to have found this goldmine,otherwise known as Cheyenne's County Thangs co-op. Thank you Lisa for all the time and hard work you put in to this...it's a labor of love and it shows. Jane Edenfield

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



I love Cheyennes Country Thangs
By: Christina luginbuehl    (Jul 13, 2011)

I love going to the market every Friday with kids, I feel lucky to be part of this co-op. Lisa and her husband are so helpful and honest; they will answer any question you have. Being part of the co-op has wonderful benefits; you truly to get more than you pay for, as well as yummy samples of treats and fruit. When you bring your own bag you get a free piece of fruit. Their fruits and vegetables are always great. I love how she puts together bags of medley with recipes!

My kids love going because the atmosphere is so warm and friendly. I feel good about supporting small local business. I love that Cheyenne's Country Thangs support hospice and the needy. A wonderful family business.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The best of everything I wanted in a farmer's market
By: Kara Kennedy    (Jul 13, 2011)

I have been a member of Cheyenne's Co-op for several months. I originally found this Co-Op by browsing Local Harvest. I was looking for a small, local business to support as opposed to buying into the chains. (NEWS: Supporting local business strengthens our economy!) I was also looking for a place to buy fresh, organic, in-season produce for my family. And ideally, I was also looking for a place with the same convictions as me in terms of giving back to the community and those in need.

I found the best of all these things at Cheyenne's, with the added bonus that a trip to her market is like a step away from the hustle of the world and into a better time where the people are neighborly and the food is delicious. I look forward to my weekly trip there, as do my two little girls, 4 and 6, who are now eager to try all sorts of new fruits and veggies due to our excursions to the market. (Did you every imagine kids would eat raw purple okra like french fries!?)

Lisa and her husband put their whole heart into this business. They make everyone feel welcome, give generously, and do their best to offer a wide variety of organic produce through local suppliers and others. Every week Lisa has surprises in store for customers, and shopping there is fun.

If I may make a few suggestions - The best cantaloupe I have EVER EATEN came from Cheyenne's a month ago. Since she shops seasonally, I like to ask her what her best picks are for the week. Her recommendations never fail to be delicious. I would recommend you try her milk, which she has on occasion, and her eggs, which she has every week. Also check out her medley bags which contain a variety of fruits and/or veggies, and have a recipe on the bag for how to use them. The medleys are the best! But they sell out of medleys quickly so get there early!

Since joining, I have brought my friends, family, and neighbors to Cheyenne's and they have all ended up joining the co-op. This is a special place and I would recommend it to anyone who values their health, community, and local economy.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Not Bad
By: rootsNsproutsblog.com    (Jul 8, 2011)

Not great, but not bad either. There isn't much that can be grown locally during the summer in Florida. (Cons) - Cheyennes suffers from bad PR in that they don't admit that. Almost every single piece of produce there right now (July) is not local. Also, we've purchased plants that we later realized had non organic fertilizer pellets in them and when we traced the plant back to the farm from which she obtained it I found out it wasn't organic. She sells organic grain-fed beef, not grass-fed beef, for 2$ more than retail and it comes from over a thousand miles away. I don't think she has vetted her suppliers well. Also, I've purchased some produce from there that has gone bad almost immediately, probably b/c it was old to begin with.

(Pros) - Cheyenne (owner) is very sweet and helpful. They also have some really good deals on particular items from time to time. They do give out some delicious free samples. With all of the cons I mentioned before, this place is better than most out there. It's definitely better than getting your produce from any of the local grocery stores.

I hope I didn't make too many waves w/ my reviews, but if Cheyennes addresses some issues this place could be really great.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

lisa hunt says:    (Jul 13, 2011)

This is Lisa from Cheyennes Country Thangs and the review that was posted is untrue and very hurtful. We have letters posted at our market that gives information on the farms and where every product comes from and how it was produced. We have a very large co-op and we on a continual basis ask each co-op member if they are happy with their produce and they say yes!!. We have been in business for almost 2 years and we have the majority of co-op members that we started with. The co-op members that are no longer with us come on Saturday and shop so that also tells us that we MUST be doing a good job. If we were trying to hide the the information on our plants wouldn't we take off the stickers??? We have never said that our herbs where organic for $3.00 for a 5 inch pot just that when you plant them don't spray pesticides on them. We try 200% to make sure that our produce is fresh so if a customer gets something bad it's not because we can see it on the outside, so it must have been bad on the inside and they have not let us know about it. In 2 years we have had 3 complaints on veggies; 1 strawberry box, we can't open every box to check every strawberry. 1 garlic bulb??, Banana's that looked great on the outside but customer said was soft on inside?? Replaced all plus some for these customers. We get as much as we can local and until 2 weeks ago carried majority local. Now we purchase from many organic farms and we get produce as fast as we can. Not sure why customer wrote these bad things but we are so happy that our co-op members love our produce and it shows because our co-op grows each week by word of mouth from other co-op members. Our meats along with everything esle we have, letters are posted all about them. Unhappy customer we are so sorry that you couldn't discuss these issues with us before you decide to say these very hurtful and unjustified comments. PS the produce that we give to the needy and Metropolitan ministries and hospice patients each week must be great also because we continually get letters from them. Lisa



Very pleasant visit
By:    (Feb 7, 2011)

My wife and I visited Cheyennes Country Thangs for the first time on the second Saturday of February.

It was wet and windy and they had a garage setup as the pickup point.

We are new to this kind of shopping and were interested because we have concerns with what exactly is in our food we don't know about. We have made a conscious decision to try to know more about how our food is grown and processed.

We had lots of questions and Lisa and her Husband were more than willing to answer. They nearly fed us lunch with all of the samples of delicious organic products and home made salsa and beets etc.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience and we will definitely be back.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review