Reviews for: Clare Limerick Alpaca and Produce Farm

Average Review:

9 reviews



wonderful farm share
By: Elizabeth    (Feb 1, 2014)

This was our first farm share and it was fantastic. We bought both the vegetable share and the egg share, and made many wonderful, healthy meals throughout the spring, summer and early fall. There were many vegetables in the share I never heard of, and it was fun to learn about them and experiment with recipes that included them. Pick up was easy and convenient. We highly recommend this farm share and will continue to subscribe to it as long as we live in this area and it is available.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Tender Love and Care
By: Amy    (Jul 19, 2013)

Time, thought, and hard work are put into not only the produce and amazing vegetables, but the entire gig. This is our second year picking up at the Okemos location and we are even more thrilled this year than last! Jan provides recipes and samples of what's to come, takes the time to wash/prepare/bag the produce for you.She even lets you choose from different herbs, potted plants, or bundles when there's extra. and oh my word the eggs are amaaaazing.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



CSA Mentor
By: Evelyn Brumwell    (Mar 14, 2013)

As a newer CSA Farm in Western New York I have visited Clare Limerick Produce Farm many times as we are both Alpaca breeders. It was Jan that encouraged me to do what I love and that was grow vegetables and other foods to help support the farm. Her CSA is a model for what I am doing and Jan is my mentor. I am totally impressed by her hard work and the great foods she grows. She and Richard have been very accommodating to their shareholders with drop off points and providing naturally grown food that is fresh and healthy. The farm grows a great variety of foods that you can be sure were grown with love. When I need help I call Clare Limerick Farm for advice and support. I would highly recommend you considering a share in their 2013 CSA.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Clare Limerick Alpaca and Produce Ranch
By: janine sheffer    (Jan 10, 2013)

I have been a member of the CSA family at Clare Limerick for 2 years. It has been a wonderful experience. Each week Jan and Richard have produce choices ready to pick up or in some cases delivered. Often Jan provides recipes featuring the produce in season. Jan and Richard are extremely organized and do an amazing job managing their produce farm. It is always such a pleasure to visit the Clare Limerick Alpaca and Produce Farm.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jan O'Neill says:    (Jan 10, 2013)

Thanks Janine, It was great to see you each week and talk about organically grown vegetables! Please let me know if there is anything different you want me to grow this year!



Vegetable CSA
By: Lawrence Su    (Jan 2, 2013)

Good choice of vegetables. Convenient location and time for pickup. Good communication.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Friendly family farm and Alpaca ranch
By: Barbara Caldwell    (Jan 1, 2013)

My family has visited this nice farm and alpaca ranch many times to purchase farm produce and alpaca items, in addition to visiting them at the Ann Arbor Farmers Market to purchase produce. We have enjoyed their fine produce for many years. Jan and Richard are very friendly and knowledgeable. Jan is very hard working and conscientious and cares deeply about her business and customers. Even though 2012 was a very difficult year due to the drought, Clare Limerick Farm still produced a nice variety and good quality produce and we enjoyed much of it throughout the season. I plan to continue to purchase produce from this farm in the future.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Needs a lot of work on produce and people skills.
By: Shawnda Hollier    (Dec 5, 2012)

We joined this CSA in 2012. There was a late start to the season with little produce throughout the year. Very disappointed. Not much variety. Fruit cost extra. Vegetable choices were pick over when I arrived. Jan and her husband were not very personable and sometimes (often) rude. I would not go with this CSA again. Just bad service and product.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jan O'Neill says:    (Dec 29, 2012)

Dear Swanda, I am so sorry you were disappointed. I felt we bent over backwards to accommodate you and all of our CSA customers. We waited past the appointed time, even though you and others were late or never showed up and always without notifying us. We tried to provide every vegetable we listed, but last year there was a huge drought and some crops failed. We filled in were crops failed with items we obtained from organic farms we are familiar with. We wish you would have told us in person of any dissatisfaction so we could have addressed you concerns immediately. It is quite unfair to have never given us a chance to address your concerns. I would like to speak to you further if you are willing. Warmly, Jan

Linda Torony says:    (Dec 30, 2012)

2012 was the worst weather for farmers in over 50 years! Many farmers lost 90% of their crops. I had 100% crop loss on fruits due to the weather. Have known Jan professionally in Agricultural field for 28 years. She is very accommodating, highly educated in the field and personable. Should have voiced your concerns personally, early in the season instead of waiting several months later.

Lori A Langone says:    (Jan 9, 2013)

This was not my experience, at all. I was very pleased with both the service and the quality/quantity of produce received from this farm and will be buying a 2013 CSA share for my family.



Vegetable CSA
By: Lori A Langone    (Aug 15, 2012)

I have been completely satisfied with the selection and quality of vegetables (and eggs) provided by this farm as a CSA. Jan and Richard are very personable and accommodating, and their farm is beautiful. I am defintely planning to buy a CSA from this farm again next spring. (Oh, and their alpacas are adorable!)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review