Reviews for: Our City Farm

Average Review:

12 reviews



Small quantities, bad attitudes
By: StL Resident    (Sep 9, 2013)

We subscribed to this CSA in 2012 and were extremely disappointed, mainly with the quantity of produce we received. I don't think we ever had more than one small grocery bag of produce, none of which was sorted out into shares before our arrival at the site. They were also inflexible and unfriendly, despite my asking specific questions regarding the flexibility of pickup before subscribing. I would not recommend this CSA to anyone.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Never received product.
By: Vance D Wasson    (Dec 28, 2011)

I ordered and paid for 4 whole chickens 4/13/11, order#122695. I made contact with the farm a few monts later to ask about my order. They said it was an oversight and would send me an extra chicken for my troubles. As of today, I still have not received anything.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Makes us feel like we are a part of a very friendly solution
By: Kimball Scharff    (Jun 1, 2011)

I am tickled to come to know your little community business these last months. Our life feels richer - that we are joining in optimistic solution of organic, local and community.

I used your recipe, Jeri, for my first chicken cooking - low temp, lime juice and rosemary - my partner said it was some of the best he'd eaten. Is it the recipe or the chicken?! The chicken did not taste wild, gamey or "heavy" to me; it was absolutely delicious and fell off the bone.

Eggs wise, I have had a lot of fun using them and giving them away to friends. The clear package shapes, label, and the colors of the eggs are truly beautiful to behold and an honor to give. The yolk color is heavenly and the shells are FUN to crack.

Icing on the cake is the way of you and your family - open, giving and friendly. Thank you again and again. Kim

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jeri Villarreal says:    (Jun 17, 2011)

We really enjoy having you as part of our farm family!! I like our chats when you come to pick up. Thanks so much for the awesome comments:-)



New Egg Addict
By: Kai Hervey    (May 25, 2011)

Your eggs are so addicting! I love them hardboiled and find myself boiling a carton at a time just so that I can snack and go. I cannot believe how many I go through in a week, they are just THAT good!!!! Thanks, now I'm hooked! :-)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So Excited About this Farm!
By: Crystal Borders    (May 16, 2011)

I am so happy to have found this farm. The eggs are fabulous and the owners are great. I asked a LOT of questions and they spent time answering my questions and also directed me to their website along with others where I found even more information. The level of service was very unexpected but much appreciated. The eggs are addictive and the chicken tastes so rich and flavorful. I'm hooked!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Amazing Experience
By: Tracey Brooks    (May 6, 2011)

Buying eggs from the Villarreal's has been a great experience for our family. They are delicious and I can count on them to have bright orange yolks that stand up! And after an exhaustive search, we were so happy to find a farm that was soy-free AND corn-free. The fact that they are high quality and delicious is just a huge bonus.

I am delighted to see all of the free classes that the farm does in the community around food justice and organic growing. It makes me wish I lived closer, however, I am happy to support such a wonderful farm and fresh idea! Thanks for all you do!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



would not order from them, poor experience
By: marianna vaysman    (Apr 25, 2011)

I placed a large order over the phone almost 2 month ago and everything looked wonderful.Jerry said she is ready to ship it out, she is just trying to find a better shipper. After that all the communication was lost. I called daily, left few messages, wrote emails directly to Jerry and through the Local Harvest, nothing in return. It is a mystery to me to what happened, but certainly very dissapointing experience. I tried to be very understanding and was willing to wait, as long as i was notified or had a reply to my inquiries. After such a long time of no communication to what had happened to my order, i just gave up and decided to write a review about very poor experience with this farm. I am very sorry that i wasted a lot of time trying to connect with the farm, that is not interested in doing business with customers.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Very disapointed!
By: Svetlana Bashkirova    (Apr 6, 2011)

Order was placed month ago. Still have nothing- no eggs, no chickens, but they took my money.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jeri Villarreal says:    (Apr 12, 2011)

We are striving to improve logistics and service constantly. I appreciate your comments. You were refunded your money once you not us of your issue. Thanks