Reviews for: 3 Birds Berry Farm

Average Review:

8 reviews



forward thinking family, thank you
By: phyllis peachey    (Jun 12, 2012)

forward thinking in that they have recognized that not all people ae the same and making a way for those of us who are in wheelchairs. I went berry picking with family, expecting to sit and watch the kids. guess what? Granny got to go in the field and pick her own berries. the kids were great and loved picking and I cannot tell you what it did for me. I got to be the first of many to come to use the facilities open to us now. the berries are extreme, the folks are just about family, and projected completion in 5 years will open the whole farm to ME! even if you don't use a wheelchair, it is an experience not to be missed.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Irene & Bill Lamb/Sembello, MR says:    (Jun 13, 2012)

Really warms our heart Phyllis! We will keep moving forward on our mission of accessible picking for all because it's important to us!! Look forward to seeing you again! -3 Birds



Incredible Berries
By: Alexandra Shirley    (Aug 25, 2011)

This is a place that you would almost want to drive all the way from Northern Virginia to go to. If you love to pick berries, and are passing through or spending time at Va Tech, it is a must do. I have been to this place many times and everytime I have only left because I could not fit any more berries into my cooler. Just GO!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Irene & Bill Lamb/Sembello, MR says:    (Jun 13, 2012)

Thanks Alexandra! It is really satisfying for us to see people, coming from any distance, get what they want as far as volumn & experience when they come to pick. So grateful you keep coming back and put the word out about the farm being worth the 'stop' along the way also! One fella driving from Arizona did just that last year while heading back east and it was neat! Please introduce yourself when you're out this season! -3 Birds



Wonderful warm experience!
By: Christine Tysor    (Jul 21, 2011)

I have heard about this farm for 4 years and this past June finally had the chance to visit for the first time. The new staff at 3 Birds is absolutely welcoming and lovely people! My boys and I picked 3 pints- the staff encouraged us to taste the berries to find our favorite variety. We came back a week later to pick a gallon and did so in 35 minutes! The bushes were bursting with large, ripe berries. This is a new family tradition for myself and my children and I will absolutely only pick berries here- no more large box store purchases! Thank you for maintaining such a great farm and thank you for your heart-warming hospitality! Great experience!!!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Irene & Bill Lamb/Sembello, MR says:    (Jun 13, 2012)

Thanks! We especially appreciate the description of the berries you wrote as the bushes are bursting again this year! Look forward to seeing you again! -3 Birds



Great Berries
By: Dave Noller    (Jul 13, 2011)

We have been picking at this firm for years - the prices are about the same as Walmart, maybe a bit better if you pick a gallon, but the berries are much fresher, bigger and better (of course)! I freeze the Blueberries and they end up lasting me through the Winter to the next picking season (and they freeze very well with no preparation).

We also pick Blackberries and Raspberries here, although they do not freeze as well as the Blueberries.

Like other reviewers, very happy that the former Crow's Nest farm will continue on under new family ownership!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful Berries
By: Jen Hardy    (Jun 25, 2011)

Wonderful family friendly farm with lots and lots of blueberries...we picked a gallon and a half in 45 minutes. Well worth the drive in from Ronaoke, will visit again!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Irene & Bill Lamb/Sembello, MR says:    (Jul 19, 2011)

Thanks for making the drive! We have recently had folks come from Roanoke, like yourselves, and Pearisburg, Hiawassee, Whytheville, Pulaski. It's exciting to see families make a day of it and leave satisfied! -3Birds



Lovely Farm
By: chris johnson    (Jun 16, 2011)

We visited them on their opening day this season, it was such a lovely time. We walked away with two pints of delicious berries. The staff was very welcoming, and made you feel like family. The grounds were well kept and the "comfort station" is a great idea. A great place to bring your family.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great berries! Great people, too! :-)
By: Susan Speight    (Jun 16, 2011)

I'm so glad that Crows Nest is living on in 3 Birds Berry Farm. I went to pick blueberries and the berries are just amazing! Their prices are more than fair at $20/gallon. I'll definitely be back next week for some more berries. Thanks! :-)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A Special Place
By: Mike Weber    (May 21, 2011)

We're SO happy that what we've known and loved as the Crow's Nest will live on as 3 Birds Berry Farm. It's the kind of fundamental resource that every community should have, and every family should frequent. This is a top-notch operation with excellent berries!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Irene & Bill Lamb/Sembello, MR says:    (May 22, 2011)

Thanks for the kinds words Mike!