Reviews for: Bull Run Mountain Farm

Average Review:

16 reviews



Bull Run Mountain Farm
By: Franz Hilberath    (Feb 16, 2014)

With Organic becoming so popular nowadays, it can become a harrowing task trying to find the right farm and people. Howver i can safely say ive found mine in Bull Run Mountain Farm.

The vegetables are delicious, quality and quantity are both held to standard here. In the few years ive been a shareholder, ive yet to have a bad experience. Always ripe and always fresh is a motto this farm seems to grow on.

Always a plus when the farm and people are great too! Great experience being able to go out on the farm and see where your food is coming from.

This gets my reccomendation as well as 5 stars from me and i implore you to give it a chance as well

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Experience
By: Liz Elllis    (Aug 16, 2013)

This is our first year with this CSA and we have really enjoyed it. Leigh is so knowledgeable and not only do we get great veggies of all varieties but we also got seedlings and many chances to go out to the farm for more! We bought a 2 person share this year to test it out but will definitely be signing up for the family share next year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



10 years and still going
By: Asya Haikin    (Jan 31, 2011)

Our family has been part of this CSA for over 10 years. We enjoy getting a variety of vegetables and learning new recipies. Pickups are conveniently located in the city. This is a great CSA for families with children. The farm is less than an hour away and Leigh always welcomes visitors. I've taken my two kids out to the farm many times to pick eggs, vegetables, observe the farm in action, and even help with chores and planting. Leigh provides opportunities to visit the farm outside the normal delivery season and pick some extra veggies. "Organic farming" is really a large spectrum of practices, but I am confident that Bull Run Mountain Farm farm is organic in the stricktest sense of the term. This may be the reason why the vegetables do not always look as "perfect" as some other produce, but we are not getting them for display. Being members of this CSA has been a great experience overall for us.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



great experience!
By: amy feuerstein    (Jan 14, 2011)

Last year was my first CSA experience and I really enjoyed the experience. It forced me to try new veggies and helped me branch out in cooking. Leigh was very knowledgeable about all the vegetables and had some really unique things. The honey was delicious and I had a summer full of pesto with all the basil! Not only did we get our weekly shares, but Leigh also opened up the farm on weekends for some fun events. I went there in the fall to press fresh cider. I already signed up for next year's share and plan to try the egg share as well this year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Authentic and Rewarding CSA Experience
By: Kirstin Corris    (Jan 10, 2011)

This will be my fourth year as a Bull Run Farm CSA subscriber. I am a huge fan of the whole experience. One of my favorite aspects is the occasions when we get to go out to the farm to see what's growing, help do a little task and be rewarded with some extra goodies, pressing your own apple cider, and gleaning the fields at the end of the season. My cooking repertoire has grown in leaps and bounds due to changing how I cook to use with what I receive from the CSA rather than deciding what to make from a cookbook, then going out to buy it. I've learned new tricks and discovered new favorite dishes. As Leigh says, CSA is not for everyone, but if you want to support local food, sustainable and pesticide-free growing practices, you owe it to yourself to give it a try and be open to changing a little in the way you cook, eat and live.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fantastic!
By: Conor Williams    (Jan 9, 2011)

We're returning subscribers for this coming year, and we've been 100% satisfied with everything that Leigh provides. It's a great value and a great variety of produce, with lots of flexibility for add-ons (honey, eggs, fruit, meats, etc).

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



happy member!
By: maureen petrella    (Jan 9, 2011)

2010 was my first season of the csa and i have already signed up for my second season.

i had a two person vegetable share and i was happy with the variety and quantity of vegetables given.

loved being able to visit the farm and leigh was always friendly and welcoming to shareholders. seems to be willing to work with shareholders for suggestions about what vegetables to grow, pick up locations, etc.

in response to complaints made in previous reviews: i prefer to select my own vegetables so other csa organizations that provide pre-bagged vegetables, wouldn't work for me. as far as complaints regarding squished tomatoes, leigh made the change this year to personally hand out the tomatoes to shareholders rather than us selecting our own; so i never received squished tomatoes. also, unwashed vegetables aren't surprising to me nor are they an issue. they come from a farm and they look like they come from a farm. i prefer to wash my produce just before eating it anyways, stays fresher that way.

would highly recommend this csa to others!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Manage your expectations and you'll love it
By: John Athayde    (Jan 23, 2010)

I've been a member of this CSA for 3 years and have signed up for my fourth. For those complaining that the vegetables aren't pretty like a grocery store, Leigh says on his site in the FAQ:

"We don'?t spend a lot of time 'presenting' our vegetables. The vegetables you get in your share are fresh. We don't spent time making them appear so. Our shareholders are expected to wash their vegetables."

I've been quite happy with the selection, quantity and quality. I've had the egg share and fruit share for each year and there is variety in quality of the food, depending on what's happening. That's the nature of a non-greenhouse grow-operation. They also do a beef sale with a local rancher in the winter and this will be the 3rd year I participate in that.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review