Reviews for: Harmony Valley Farm

Average Review:

16 reviews



Switched
By: Danielle Wood    (Apr 11, 2011)

We had Harmony Valley as our CSA and switched because we got large boxes of mysterious items (I mean, I CAN cook burdock, but a person only wants to eat so much of it), yet when I went to the farmer's market they were selling the 'good' stuff there. They may have since changed this behavior, but we really liked the CSA we had after that....they were excellent. We knew they would be, because we were comparing boxes every week prior to our switch (our neighbor is the drop for the other CSA). My observation....HV don't seem to operate like the ideal model of a CSA .

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Richard DeWilde says:    (Feb 23, 2012)

Our farm has found success through growing for three distinct markets: CSA, Wholesale & Farmer's Market. Our CSA is our first priority and growing for other markets allows us to reduce the risks usually associated with a CSA membership. For example, we don't grow just enough garlic for our CSA membership, we grow enough to sell at market as well. Therefore, if there is a problem in the field, we can shuffle that garlic originally intended for market to our CSA members & they don't miss out. With our CSA, you'll receive a mix of kitchen staples & familiar produce along with some items for the adventurous cook. We try to get you out of your comfort zone and try new things; we'll send produce that you might not have considered buying at the store or even be able to find anywhere else! Every year we try a new crop such as cardoon or nettles (a recent favorite that we've added to our spring repertoire), as well as "unusual" items like burdock, ramps, fennel, garlic scapes, sunchokes, amaranth & other greens, different varieties of eggplant and kale and more. Burdock is mainly a wholesale and farmer's market item, but due to CSA member requests, we do send it in one or two early season spring boxes (at the most) or as a Choice item during the season. (The Choice boxes are extra items we send to our CSA sites on some weeks so CSA members can supplement that week's box, if they choose. We have sent eggplant, fennel, basil and more as the Choice item.) In our 20 years of CSA deliveries, we have included burdock in less than half of those years, generally as a Choice item and never in more than two boxes per season. Many CSA members get boxes Every other Week so we remain mindful of box contents on those alternating weeks throughout the season; we don't want our "brown" week customers thinking they missed out or that the "green"weeks are somehow better. We try to be as equal as possible without getting too repetitious for our Weekly box members! Our Farmer's Market stand in Madison is a good place to see what is coming up in season; those first 25 heads of broccoli go to market since that quantity is not enough for all of our CSA boxes. After you see that first appearance of broccoli, you'll know that the rest of the crop isn't far behind & it will soon show up in your CSA box (,Mother Nature willing! The Farmer's Market stand (Saturdays on Mifflin Street, look for our green awning) is a great outlet for those small amounts, trial plantings, or extras harvested above and beyond what was packed in CSA boxes as well as a great place for us to meet present and future customers. But this weekly sale is such a small percentage of our production it in no way detracts from our commitment to our CSA members. We do detailed comparisons and are confident that we offer our CSA members (and all the other people we feed) the very best variety, quality, value and cooking information of any CSA in at least the Midwest. And we have thousands of customers who support that fact.

Donald Propsom says:    (Apr 12, 2012)

The variety, quality and quantity of vegetables from HVF is unsurpassed in my experience. Yes, they do put in vegetables that I have not been familiar with, but there is always ample amounts of the old favorites. The newsletter that comes with every box lists everything that is in it and also provides information and recipes for the more unfamiliar items. Some, such as ramps, have become favorites which I look forward to every year. Richard De Wilde does a good job of explaining HVF's philosophy. I have never felt that HVF has ever put their CSA shareholders in anything other than first place in their farming decisions. That is why I am still a member going into my 16th year. The hardest part of each year is when the CSA boxes stop coming.



Great CSA!
By: Sharon    (Sep 25, 2008)

This is our 3rd year with this CSA and we love it! The produce is clean and plentiful. I like the variety we receive and love that we get fruit such as strawberries, raspberries, and melons as part of the CSA produce. The business end of it is very professional and helpful if you have any problems or concerns. Love the newsletter and how they keep us up to date with all their news and give us recipes and ideas on how to use the different items. I'd highly recommend them!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A terrific CSA
By: Karen    (Jul 24, 2008)

We couldn't be happier with the beautiful produce and excellent customer service. We receive the vegetable, fruit, coffee and cheese shares and enjoy every bit of it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First timer
By: Ann Zimprich    (Jul 17, 2008)

This is my first year as a HVF CSA member and I am more than impressed. The veggies are clean & beautiful. I chose this farm because there is an every other week delivery option, but I think that next year I will choose every week along with the fruit share! The staff at HVF do a great job communicating with members in regard to education and new ways to try the produce. My husband who wouldn't consider himself a "big fan" of veggies is sold and looks forward to seeing what's in the box!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



High quality food
By: cynthia    (Jul 11, 2008)

This is my second year with Harmony Valley Farm. I love how everything comes to me clean and beautiful. There is enough of each item to meet my family's needs, and there is a wide enough variety that we have lots of different meals from each box. This year I am also getting the cheese share which is awesome! The veggie cheeses are great.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fabulous produce, great information, great service
By: DeNae Leverentz    (Jul 10, 2008)

They are very accommodating - we are 3 households splitting a single share, but we all get the newsletters. Wonderful produce in excellent condition. The cheese share is amazing. The whole experience is an excellent value for the money. The automatic electronic payment option is very helpful. I would recommend them to anyone thinking of a CSA.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great CSA Program
By: Tricia    (Jul 10, 2008)

This year, 2008, is my second year with Harmony Valley Farm's CSA program. They do a great job of educating us not only on the different types of produce we receive, but also on political ans social issues that affect farming. I also love how long their delivery period is. With the extended share boxes in January, we only have to wait a few months before we can get more fresh produce. The quality of the produce is fantastic- to the point where I have a hard time buying asparagus, melons, strawberries, radishes, and many other items in the grocery store because the taste isn't nearly as good as what we get in the CSA.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



One of the biggest and best
By: Barth Anderson    (May 5, 2008)

Harmony Valley offers one of the more popular CSA subscriptions in the Upper Midwest.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review