Reviews for: Danjo Farms

Average Review:

13 reviews



Finally some great food in KC!
By:    (Jun 8, 2014)

I am from Europe and I have always struggle to find food that was not poisonous in the US with all these chemicals. I stumbled upon Danjo Farm a few months ago and was impressed by their fantastic work ethic. They work really hard, to have a wide collection of veggie, herb, MO goodies, eggs, bread, flowers. They activities are really diverse. They are a really hard working family and they cover a wide geographic area: from KC to Saint Louis and they do it each week. I can't say how much I respect that.

The produce are top quality and Dan always have the perfect recipe he knows by earth if you don't know how to cook something. I read in previous review that diversity in choice was sometimes a concern. I actually do not think so when you consider the wide spectrum of food they offer. If you miss an item or two, it is really no big deal. This is a farm share, not a supermarket, and supermarket are bad for you!

I give 5 stars to Danjo Famrs and they have all my support!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Jun 8, 2014)

I think when you use your Facebook account to sign in, you name does not popped up. So this review was written by me, and I am Severine Dehon.

Dan Nelson says:    (Jul 29, 2014)

Thanks Seri! Your the best! Dan:)



BEST CSA around Columbia!
By: Steve Wren    (Jan 18, 2014)

My friend Trey turned me onto you guys and I love it. We were just sitting here talking to our friend Mary about you and it made both of us realize how fortunate we are to have found your services. I'm personally a fan of the Duck eggs but Mary doesn't believe me on them so I can't wait to get my next drop!

I actually heard a bunch of people complaining about their fruits and vegetables not "tasting" like they used to. They said the flavor was so bleh on so many of the produce they have been getting so we suggested they tried organic or "Certified Naturally Grown" and they would be very surprised.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (Jan 18, 2014)

We try are best to provide fresh local produce from our farm to you. Thanks for the support. This is greatly appreciated. Dan:)



Best Naturally Grown Local Farm CoOp
By: Trey Parker    (Jan 18, 2014)

Thank you Danjo Farms for being the best Certified Naturally Grown group of farmers I have dealt with since I've been in the area. When I got here from California I just knew I was going to have a hard time finding what I was used to in terms of produce but as it turns out you guys were better than I could have ever dreamed of. Your products are great.... I'm looking forward to seeing more items like BBQ Sauces, pickles, salsa, etc.

Also, just wanted to mention that I LOVE seeing you guys all over the place!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (Jan 18, 2014)

Thank you for your kind words! Dan :)



DANJO is FABULOUS!
By: Meg Vanderliest    (Jul 3, 2013)

My "family" and I have been CSA members for over a year now and we simply LOVE it! This is our second summer CSA and we participated in the winter CSA.

We picked Danjo over others because we could select what we needed that week instead of being given a surprise basket.

If we go out of town, they let us pick up early or we can pick all tomatoes for making salsa or sauce if we want. It's great and creates less waste.

We look forward to seeing our farmers each week and have really gotten to know them. We were even invited to a family wedding. Now how many people can say that?!?

Thus far all of the fruit and veggies have been wonderful and MUCH more favorful than what I used to buy in the grocery store plus I am getting such better quality. I don't worry about pesticides and chemicals and my body is so much better for it.

If you don't want to commit to a CSA, buy the veggies seperately. You will still get an awesome price and a great quality product. I can't say enough good things about Danjo and their staff. XOXOX

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (Jul 7, 2013)

Thanks Megan. We have appreciated your friendship and trust in us. See you at the market! Dan :)



Not impressed
By:    (Apr 10, 2013)

I was not impressed by the produce. The asparagus was thin and didn't look too fresh. The other items were just alright. I stopped going because there wasn't a lot to choose from and friendly wouldn't be a word I would use for the experience. I think I will use a farmers market from now on. I don't think it was cost effective.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (Apr 29, 2013)

Wow! We haven't even been picking asparagus this spring yet. Let alone selling any asparagus! Who are you? Where did we supposedly sell to you? This post is a obvious slam and a lie. PLEASE DELETE THIS REVIEW!

says:    (May 28, 2013)

I was talking about LAST spring and summer. The asparagus WAS AWFUL! The veggies not good. You should take the criticism and suck it up rather that YELL!!!!

Dan Nelson says:    (Jun 23, 2013)

Again! Who are you mystery shopper one year later? Disclose yourself you internet chicken! Where did you buy from us? Why have you waited a YEAR to post this obvious slam and lie. People like you do not need to use the internet just to SLAM peoples integrity and leave inappropriate, outdated posts and reviews. This is why I am going to delete our listing with local harvest. For they do not wish to support those that have supported them for 10 years but give into people like YOU! - just one consumer on a rant. What is your motive? You obviously do not give a crap about us or any other hard-working farmers. GET OFF MY PAGE AND STAY OFF!

Meg Vanderliest says:    (Jul 3, 2013)

Seriously? Everyone knows last years lack of rain caused smaller crops. And everyone had less to choose from. If you want veggies as far as the eye can see....go to a grocery store and they will import it from all over the world just for you! If you want great local produce, deal with the rain, shine, lack of rain and limited items. As we move through summer the produce becomes more plentiful with more options. I am amazed what people will complain about. I doubt they are out there planting, watering and worrying about their crops so lets bash someone else instead. Last year for our CSA we had plenty....eggplant, lettuce, cucumbers, onions, zucchini, squash, beans, tomatoes, bell peppers, potatoes, and okra just to name a few. What more could you ask for in a dry season?



Unprofessional demeanor and defensive
By: Darla S Todd    (Apr 1, 2013)

I was a little timid about trying out the program because of the 6 month commitment. I signed up and then e-mailed to find out the cancellation policy. A little late, I know. I received a very friendly e-mail back stating: I

"I'm sure you will like your CSA subscription. You ordered a 1/4 veggie share. We never pre pack, so you pick the veggies you like. And you are guaranteed 5 pounds of veggies per week. So, you choose!

Our cancellation policy is that you can receive a full refund before the first pick up date which is May 25th. After this we do not give cash refunds but we can transfer your share to another person of you choosing."

So after careful consideration, I decided that I better wait until next year due to my finances even though it sounded like a neat program. When I e-mailed to tell them I'm cancelling, I received the following response:

"No problem. I will get paid by check the first week of April from Local Harvest. I cannot refund this on your credit card because they ran the charge. Then I will send you a check minus their charges to me. "

So I simply replied that in an earlier e-mail I was told a full refund would be sent if I cancelled by a certain date. I did that. I received this reply:

"Do you expect me to takes hit on your decision to cancel? I incur a 6% charge through Local Harvest for your bill. So, I will refund you the amount they send me in April with a copy of their invoice."

I thought this was a little defensive and unnecessary since I was only wanting clarification due to the message in an earlier e-mail. I mentioned that I thought this was an unprofessional response and that he definitely helped me with my decision for signing up with the program next year. This was the reply I received:

"Your the one blaming me for your inability to read the fine details of local harvests policies! I am stating the facts as they are presented to both if us. Very far from being unprofessional.

As far as future purchases please feel free to not use us. We have plenty of dedicated customers rational enough to make a sound decision before buying into our program.

You will receive your refund as promised minus the fees from local harvest. There are no hard feelings here."

I copied and pasted the sellers responses directly from my e-mails and I never post negative comments unless I feel a seller has truly been unprofessional and difficult. I know everyone has bad days.

I was merely trying to clarify a situation and the seller went into a defensive mode which came off very rude. I really hope this was due to bad timing and others do not have the same type of interactions. Considering this was one of the higher rated of the CSA's in my area, I may stick to getting veggies at the grocery store.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (Apr 29, 2013)

Obviously this lady did not give any reason to refund her money immediately except to say in a e-mail conversation, " What is your refund policy?" after signing up and committing to our CSA program through Localharvest with a credit card in the middle of the month. The very next morning she e-mails me that she wants her money back as though it is automatically put into our account. I was upset that she didn't give me a chance to re coupe the loss and understand the process we had to go through to get our funds for her hasty purchase and immediate refund. Consumers that wish to be so "politically correct" in their business relations should be reminded everyone does not have a bank account to take care of their financial blunders and lack of disciple. I was short with her because she was short with me. She hastily placed her problem in my lap and wanted to be given immediate attention. Why should I have to stop what I am doing to accommodate her faults. She had to wait like any other person to receive her final refund. I do not appreciate having to go on this site and to defend my farm, my business or my finances. If this continues to be the case to allow people to openly place a one sided reviews I will ask for my web page to be stricken from Localharvest permanently.

Meg Vanderliest says:    (Jul 3, 2013)

Next time you should do your homework ahead of time instead of waiting until after the fact. I've been a CSA member for over a year now and Danjo has been nothing but EXCELLENT for my family! We asked many questions before signing up so we knew 100% what we were getting into. Take some personal responsibility before you post bad feedback.



Where farmers become friends!
By: Renee Boggs    (May 3, 2012)

I participated in the Winter CSA. I love love love this CSA. I will definitely be doing this again next winter. Dan and Joanne are always a pleasure to speak with. The winter portion was always more than enough. I ended up giving about half of my share to other family members because the weekly shares were so generous. The pick up was easy and they remembered me by name. I was able to get my winter share as well as honey, salsas, just about anything that is possible to pickle, and amazing breads! The price was amazing for what you receive. Can't wait to see what they will have next season! Thanks Dan and Joanne!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (May 7, 2012)

Thanks Renee. This winter we have made a lot of new friends of which you are one of our favorites! See you soon! Dan & Joanne Nelson:)



Fresh food from friendly farmers!
By: Gina Edwards    (Apr 24, 2012)

We've been getting our produce, eggs, chicken, pork, and honey from Danjo Farms for the last year, and we are VERY satisfied and happy customers! I recommend Danjo Farms to everyone who inquires about local CSA's. They're a friendly family of farmers providing us with fresh food!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dan Nelson says:    (Apr 24, 2012)

Thanks Gina! You and your family have been super supportive. We appreciate your trust in us! Peace. Dan & Joanne:)