Reviews for: Seasons In The Sun

Average Review:

6 reviews



Great GMO free produce
By: Beth Quave    (Jun 19, 2013)

I have been with the CSA for a year now. The produce is wonderful and the owner has always been open to answering all my questions. I see where there where some earlier negative reviews. To be honest early on there were some logistic problems with starting a new CSA, but I feel like those have all been solved now. I think some complained about conventional packaging. These we just recycled packages but not the product. I have been the to farm myself several times and I love seeing the chickens free ranging! The produce is GMO free and the price is great for what you get. I also know personally the farmer where the grassfed cheese comes from and they are fantastic farmers. We are a grain free family and the CSA has been so accommodating with my produce bag. I know that what I get in my weekly CSA is a really good value for what I pay. It also has helped me try new items I have never had before. Try it, you will not be disappointed with the produce!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



We like the Element of Surprise!!!
By: Clara Falk    (Nov 23, 2012)

We enjoy all the fresh fruit and vegetables-eggs-butter-homemade bread-white potatoes-sweet potatoes-yellow and green squash-huge sweet carrots-onions-green onions-celery-tomatoes-bell peppers-coffee:) nice avacodo-cocounts,fresh shelled peas, and more and we just order the #1 box..(I picked up the eggs extra with my #1box) We like most everything and it makes it so nice when I do not have to choose "what we will have" in produce to eat. I appreciate the CSA and I am so happy to find it.

If I do have a complaint I will take it to those who are in charge and work it out with them or I will discontinue the service.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So glad I found this place!
By: Nicole Neal    (Nov 11, 2012)

Such a great variety and quality of fruits and veggies, bread, eggs, cheese, meats, and local honey. I have tried new recipes and foods I wouldn't have otherwise.Also, if you get something you REALLY don't like, you can exchange it for something you do. My baskets from Dlee are helping me and my family eat healthier.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Caution Advised
By: Regina Ragland    (Oct 20, 2012)

Started with this CSA in 7/12 and discontinued 8/30/12. During active growing season produce I received was very good but went down rapidly. When questioned, the owner said that the quantity & quality was due to a change over to fall planting. Eggs were NOT good. Small and runny with a dull yellow yolk. Noticed 50 lb. bagged onions on porch in mid August & wondered why a local farm would have to bag onions. No disclosures had been made that produce would be obtained through wholesale methods.

Notice of what would be provided from week to week was not given unless requested. Owner wants the element of surprise...I don't. Produce offered was not allocated evenly across the size of share purchased. The largest shares would receive items not allocated to smaller shares.

MANY delivery problems. May have been resolved by now.

Lots of promises....not much follow through.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dlee Reeves says:    (Nov 9, 2012)

Mrs Ragland I am sorry you were not satifiyed. We started withr first CSA June 1. We had kincks to work thru and asked forgiveness in this but also gave so many exta things including homemade fresh items that we baked ourselves. I would like to address your issues. Our eggs we have not had ANY problems with. Except that we were not producing enough fro all our customers. I have had NO complaintes on our eggs before. So many people come out to see all of our different chickens. As for the onions...I did have a bags of onions....which we buy from the wholesale market in order to USE them to put our onions in...just like the tomatoe boxes we bought and used and banana boxes and so on. I wished you would have asked and I would have gladly informed you of this. We also buy rubber bands (or they are actully given to us) that we use for broccoli to hold a bunch together....our broccoli but used rubber bands with codes on them. The wholesale things we bought we have always been honest about...like the bananas and items that we buy which are organic ONLY...like the grapes and pears and such. But we told everyone that the bananas were the reg ones you could get int eh store, but we had so many people wanting them, so we tired to do what we were requested. We have sinced stopped because of complaints such as yours. MOST all our CSA customers LIKE the be surprised every week, and stated they would NOT like to know what is in the baskets. Those who want to know send me an email and I answer them privately so that the others can still have it as a surprise. They say and I quote "Its like Christmas morning eveery week when I get my bag". And I am not sure why you said what you did about the #1 vs #3. There is a big difference in price #1 $25 and #3 $49. The #3 would of course have more and different. As it is stated #1 gets 6 to 8 diff fruits and veggies and #3 get 01 to 12...so not only do they get more of each item in #1 but they get more variety. And from the begining our DELIVERY CSA program does nto allow for individualized baskets. BUT we have a swap table for local pick ups so you may swap out things you do not like or can not use. Again, I am sorry you were not happy with our program but our program does not work for everyone. WQe do hope you will come out to the farm and se for yourself what all we do here. When you were here before we were not ready for public view as we were still working on our greenhouses and our new hydroponic systems. Thanks so much Dlee



Dishonest- do not suscribe
By: Carol Gordon    (Oct 20, 2012)

Items in my "basket" included fruits, vegetables and butter with grocery code stickers they hadn't even bothered to remove. When questioned the owner admitted she "supplemented" with items from the wholesale store. Some items were already beginning to rot when received and had to be thrown away immediately. On the positive side the tomatoes were good. I only suscribed for a month and was very positive in the beginning but overall it was a very disheartening experience that has made me suspect of all CSA's although I'm still trying to find another real one in the area.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dlee Reeves says:    (Nov 9, 2012)

Mrs Gordon I am very sorry, as we discussed before, that you were not happy with our program. The stickers you are reffering to if you remember were the reg bananas that so many OTHER customers had requested. So WHEN we could not get the FRESH bananas from the FL farm that we do trade outs with, yes I did add reg banans in that I bought at the wholesale farmers market. The pears if you remember correctly WERE organic and the sticker they had on them STATED just that AND I also told everyone that we had ORGANIC barlett pears which COME FROM CA. Again, I thank you for your cander and I am sorry you were not please. We did not lie about anything or mislead. You seemed to complain every week no matter what and as I TRIED to tell you we were new at this CSA thing BUT NOT farming and we did have some kincks to work thru and asked forgiveness and indeed GAVE many different surprises to say we were sorry when we made mistakes....these surprises were including fresh homemade banana bread, fresh homemade choc. zucc cake, etc. But this program is not for everyone. And if you recall our conversation I said the reason I was cancelling you was because you were just not happy no matter what we did or how we tried to make it right for you. I sincerely hope you find the program you are looking for. But you are correct on the things you said about alot of CSA's doing the things you accused me of. This I know first hand. But as our program is local everyone has always been invited out to SEE exactly what we do and we also have Upick....so there is no secrets here. I am just sorry you feel the way you do. Again, I will ask you come out and see for yourself what all we do here and on the farm....you are and have always been more than welcome. That would be best next time. Thanks so much for giving us a try. Dlee



Dishonest Owner
By: Donna Martin    (Sep 15, 2012)

Do not use this CSA! She is very dishonest! She has owed me a refund for months. She has been known to put Publix eggs in her baskets...not even organic. Her flowers also have come from Publix. She makes a lot of empty promises! This CSA should be checked out! She is not conforming to general regulations!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dlee Reeves says:    (Nov 9, 2012)

Mrs Martin Your refund was done on a timely basis, and done so by the card processing company. This is done on a monthly time line and not weekly. As for our flowers, yes we bought some from Publixs because we were not set up to buy from the farm yet. But I can assure you our eggs DID NOT come from Publixs. We just REUSE cartons that our customers give us. And when I buy eggs from others who care for their chickens the same way I do, they also come in USED egg cartons. Its called recycling. And if you will actually go back and look at what CSA orginally started as, you will also see there are NO regulations for us to conform to. Each and every CSA is different and ours is as well. CSA was orginally started where you buy (each season) a share of what the farmer HOPE to produce. It was a chance you took right along side the farmer and if it was a good year, you got an acceptable amount of what he grew...but if it was a bad year, you lost just as he did because you had to pay up front and this was anywhere from $650 to $1,000 for a season (like fall/winter or spring/summer). In our program, we take the risk, you have no risk and you pay monthly and not for 6 months in advance. There have been no empty promises but have been mistakes which we tried VERY hard to fix and make right and for the most part have done so. This program is, as I have said to many, not for everyone. I am sorry it did not work for you. But we do hope you come out to the farm here and see what all we have going on. thank you Dlee