Reviews for: Pato's Dream Date Gardens

Average Review:

14 reviews



Watch out for the bargain box!!
By: Kim Armstead    (May 23, 2014)

'Our "bargain boxes" have smaller sizes, firmer tamar fruit, like a chewy little caramel, great for pocket food, hiking, biking, for the car or a desk at school or work.' --Advertisement for Halawi dates, Pato's Dream Date Gardens, Thermal, Ca

I've ordered alot of dates recently. I'm familiar with the words used to denote quality. 'Firmer' usually refers to a date that's not super moist but not completely dried out either...the quality falls somewhere in the middle of these extremes. I received 12 pounds of dates that just couldn't have been harvested this year. The 'fruit' around the pit looks and feels like paper on most of the dates...on some of them, the fruit feels like cardboard. They are very, very difficult to pit. When I emailed the grower to inform them of what I had received, I was told that wetting them might help to restore moisture. These dates aren't worth $82 dollars. Be careful ordering the bargain box from Pato's Dream Date Gardens in Thermal, Ca.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Medjool dates ever eaten!
By: Theresa Joseph    (Dec 8, 2013)

I've been buying dates from a different farm in California via a food co-op for years. Those dates don't even compare to the high quality of the dates from Pato's. Pato's dates are the perfect texture and flavor! I'm from New York state so, unfortunately, I can't attend the Alhambra Farmer's Market.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



My favorite dates
By: Roberta S. Walsh    (Dec 4, 2012)

I have ordered these dates for several years and keep ordering them because they are the best I've ever eaten. Yes, I can buy dates in the stores here in New York but they are just not the same. These dates are really sweet but they hold their shape and are not squishy. My friends' eyes really light up when I serve them stuffed with nuts or cheese. They make a great gift. When I order the big box I don't need to use them all up right away because they keep well just sitting in the cupboard but, if I am saving them for a special occasion, I put them in the freezer so they don't get eaten and they thaw out as good as new.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent Medjool Dates
By: Elizabeth V. Cawthra    (Nov 24, 2012)

I have often purchased dates at local natural grocery stores. They were good. I must admit that the dates that I received from Pato's Dream Date Gardens were the best I have ever eaten. The texture is soft and the flavor is very sweet and tasty. Thank you for growing such a delicious product. I will be back to purchase more, I am certain.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



excellent, delicious and juicy
By: carrie jelaso    (Aug 13, 2012)

The fresh yellow dates are delightful. They melt in your mouth and are so wonderful. Thank you Pato !

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



outstanding
By: jau gleason    (Oct 22, 2011)

Moist, bite sized, flavorful date that's not too sweet. I'm sorry I didn't order more for the holidays before they sold out. It's a good thing this variety has been preserved, because they are outstanding!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Nature's Candy
By: Valery Stanley    (Sep 23, 2011)

My order just arrived and I could not have been more pleased! The sweet, flavorful, melt in your mouth, yellow "candies" are divine. These fresh dates are a pleasure to look at, but an even bigger one to eat. The crunchiest ones are still the sweetest fresh dates I've ever had; the ones with a tiny bit of dark yellow/brown are reminiscent of raw honey, and the full brown ones are as sweet as the sweetest medjhool date, but with a more distinct, unforgettable flavor. Your Pato's date order will come in a nice canvas bag that you can hang right away and enjoy a sweet treat every time you pass by. Yum! And now I'm off to eat another pound...

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



My mom loves the khalal Mariana dates!
By: Kathi To    (Aug 29, 2011)

I ordered these in early August 2011 when they were open for orders, and they arrived ahead of schedule in mid August. The farm kept us in the loop about the harvest time and were able to ship ahead of schedule because this summer had been so warm.

My mom loves fresh dates with their astringent taste and crunchy texture but we can't find them in ready supply in New York City. I love the fact that we can order from LocalHarvest! Mom truly enjoyed the dates and I'm ordering her the Black Sphinx so she can try that too.

They came in a FedEx box. The palms were curled up in a cotton bag. Only 1 date fell off the palm! There were several dates that looked like they had been bruised during the transport, but they turned out to be ripe, not bruised. They were so sweet! We ate those first.

Definitely delicious and good service. I have already ordered again!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review