Reviews for: Red Rosa Farm

Average Review:

38 reviews



Expedited order
By: Timothy Cozine    (May 5, 2010)

This is the second year I've ordered quail eggs from Red Rosa Farm. Last year the eggs were shipped quickly and arrived in excellent condition with no damage. This year I placed my order late and I needed them quickly. I called the farm and Cathy called me back very quickly. I wanted to get my shipment over-nighted and pay the difference with a credit card. The farm isn't able to take a credit card and I don't have a way to pay by check. Cathy volunteered to absorb the additional cost of overnight shipping to ensure I received my order in time. My hat is off to Red Rosa Farm. Thank you. Tim Cozine, USDA, APHIS, WS

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Bad Tomato seeds and customer service
By: ALAN RUSSELL    (May 3, 2010)

I was excited to promply receive my tomato seeds from Red Rosa Farms. But, after planting hundreds of tomato seeds from a few differant companies, Red Rosa Farms tomato seeds were the only ones that only had 20% to 50% germination. I have tried to contact them thru e-mail and by phone but I have never recieved a reply. Bad seeds and terrible customer service makes a bad buisness!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Cathy Crosson says:    (May 5, 2010)

We have sent this customer a full replacement of their seed order, plus some additional bonus seeds. Out of literally thousands of tomato seed orders we have filled this season and last, we have had virtually no reports of poor germination, and many very happy reports. We have grown all of these tomato plants for market from the same batches of seeds, and have had excellent germination from all of them, at least 80-90%. Many factors go into the germination of seeds, so it is impossible to guess why this customer experienced poor germination. One local customer who bought our seeds last year had told us he had poor germination from a particular variety last year, then he planted the same batch of seeds this year and reported close to 100% germination. We do apologize that we did not directly contact this customer with regard to their problem before sending them the replacement seeds. We are exceptionally busy this Spring, and although we strive to be as responsive as possible, some phone calls or emails may go unanswered for a time. The response time to any particular problem or inquiry may also be affected by the tone in which is is delivered -- a friendly, collegial tone will often result in a quicker response than an accusatory, hostile one.

ALAN RUSSELL says:    (May 5, 2010)

Thanks so much for resending the seed. I, to am a family farmer and just thought after 10 days I was not going to receive a reply from you. I'm sorry my voice must sound hostile, Didn't mean it that way.



Expensive nuts a disappointment for the holidays
By: Jeanette Louis    (Dec 30, 2009)

I had made two attempts to order native nuts for the holidays. The first time was some time before the holidays because I wanted to check out the product beforehand. The product (a mix of black walnuts, hickory nuts and american chestnuts) was out of stock at that time. I requested to be notified when they would be available again. When I was able to order more, I placed an order for what, I thought, was an expensive price even considering they were nuts. But, I thought: they were local, native and probably were of very good quality.

When I received the package, I promptly opened it. The first three of five black walnuts I opened were basically empty. The nutmeats were dried and shriveled up. Most of the chestnuts rattled in the shell, a sign of shrinking and drying out. The only promising item was the hickory nuts and even those were below expectations. I believe that, while Red Rosa Farm claims they are not able to shell the nuts at this point in time, they should at least be able to separate the bad ones from the good ones a bit better. I understand cost would be higher for what I was looking for but I also expect a better product. Needless to say, I did not serve the nuts for the holidays and I hope at least the local squirrels were able to enjoy them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



hatching eggs
By: danielle wells    (May 3, 2009)

I recently ordered 6 hatching eggs from Red Rosa Farm and they arrived today. I am extremely pleased with their condition when I opened the box. All six eggs were in perfect condition.

My daughter and I are very excited about seeing them hatch. Will let you know how it turns out. Thanks Red Rosa Farm!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



They Gave Me A New Family ...
By: Scott Giordano    (Apr 28, 2009)

Because of Red Rosa Farm's excellent service, I was successful in hatching my first ducklings. I plan to keep two of them as pets, and they are the best of friends and now a loving part of my family.

Red Rosa was great from start to finish in their communications, delivery, and the effectiveness/fertility of their products.

And the ducklins are beautiful. I can't wait to watch them grow and bond with me and the rest of our family :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Eggs from Kind Farm
By: Tammy Bowen    (Apr 22, 2009)

This woman who has this Egg Farm is incredible. She is Sweet and I Only get my Eggs from her cause I am Vegetarian and part Vegan and they don't Murder the Chickens if they are no longer producing Eggs. Thank God.:-) The Eggs are Beautiful and Yummy..I had one that was cracked but I ate that one right away. I am just Happy that her Chickens are treated with LOVE and they are her babies. Thank You for being a Beautiful Egg Farm and having Truly HAPPY Chickens with NO Roosters losing their lives either! :-) Love, ~*Tammy*~ Chaplain For Animals~

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Orloff Hatching Eggs
By: Tara Taylor    (Apr 3, 2009)

The orloff hatching eggs I ordered were received in excellent condition. Great packaging job! None were cracked or broken, not even a hairline crack. I look forward to returning to post the results of the hatch.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



hatching eggs
By: Brandon Anderson    (Mar 27, 2009)

I wasn't really pleased with my shipment of eggs. One egg was fairly loose in the carton. A friend who has a hatchery mentioned the packing was a bit sloppy. He figured they should of sent a few more eggs to make sure you get your money's worth at least. He felt the eggs should of been individually wrapped with bubble wrap not just in paper towels and a clear egg carton. With packing peanuts around the whole inside of the box not just with puffy wrap. When I was holding the box I could feel the other box in it move around. With the way the post office handles boxes you just can't take chances. We will see if these hatch. If so I will be quite surprised. Then I may change my rate on this farm. Sorry guys but I just wasn't pleased with the way you shipped them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review