Reviews for: Old Capitol Farmers' Market

Average Review:

66 reviews



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Janet H.    (Jun 19, 2009)

I love our market. It has fresh, inexpensive ,local produce. I can buy delicious baked goods, homemade soap, free-range chickens and eggs, honey, and plants. The farmers/sellers are friendly and it is great to get to know the people that grow/make the food you are eating. I look forward to shopping there every Wednesday.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Sheila W.    (Jun 19, 2009)

There's a great variety of produce among the MANY vendors. Local crafts and art and music are featured, too. And there are local bakers, too. I can buy soap from a maker who uses ingredients from her family's farm and heirloom tomatoes grown in good central Illinois soil. The flowers and herbs make the market a visual treat. I always see people I know, so it's a social event, too.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Judy W.    (Jun 19, 2009)

I support the Old Capitol Farmers' Market because there is such a wonderfully diverse selection of fruits, vegetables,baked goods and plants. It's not a lot of the booths with the same produce, but all kinds of different items and the quality is wonderfully fresh. The addition of the arts area once a month, live music and the restaurant cooking tips add to that great diversity.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Diane H.    (Jun 19, 2009)

It feels good to buy from local farmers and it brings life to downtown during the daylight..Always good; always fresh and can't be the price.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Kimberly R.    (Jun 19, 2009)

Embodies the community spirit of our city and has become THE social meeting place on Weds and Sats.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Lynn S.    (Jun 19, 2009)

Wonderfully fresh locally grown food plus local artisans' wares and music! Truly a great community event and boon to the local economy!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Marti G.    (Jun 19, 2009)

It has all of the fresh produce I crave year round all in two blocks, and just down the street from my workplace. Great organic foods, some of which you can even find at the local health fool grocery. It is awesome!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Carey S.    (Jun 19, 2009)

Our farmers market is filled with wonderful farmers who grow great organic food and offer it at practical prices. The farmers are wonderful, giving advice on everything from how to grow your own at home to how to prepare it. I love the low-key atmosphere, and always run into a lot of people I know for great conversations. I can't list my favorite farmers, because there are so many! If the market would provide access to people who use the Link card (food stamps), I would do a lot more, if not all of my shopping there, as would many people who do not currently have access to fresh local organic food. It's a win situation for farmers and a win situation for residents.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review