Reviews for: Beck Grove / La Vigne Ent.

Average Review:

16 reviews



Perfect
By:    (Oct 23, 2014)

The persimmons arrived in perfect condition and almost ready to eat. I let them sit a few days and am now eating them up at the rate of two a day so they last. I can't get them in the rural area where I live so I was very happy to find LocalHarvest.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Perfect
By:    (Oct 23, 2014)

I love fuyu persimmons. These arrived in perfect condition and were ready to eat in just 2-3 days. I can't get persimmons in my part of the world, rural Maine, and was happy to find LocalHarvest. I decided to give them a try and my experience has been great. I'll order again next year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



disappointing box of unriope persimmons
By: Lori Hyon Bae    (Oct 13, 2014)

I ordered a large box of persimmons from this farm. And they were still edible, but not fully ripened as I expected. And even after days in room temperature, did not ripen. I emailed the farm, hoping to give them benefit of the doubt, asking if I might be able to reorder a box of persimmons provided they were ripe; wondered if they were more ripe at this time. No answer. I'll look for another farm. Obviously this is their way of saying they don't care much about the customer.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Lynne Van Dyke says:    (Oct 15, 2014)

Just an FYI....We live about 30+ miles from the farm where you purchased the Persimmons. Ours are just starting to get ripe (Fuyu) and are still at the crisp apple stage. What is nice about Fuyu is that you can use them from the crisp stage until the time they are soft. The crisp ones are perfect for Salsa but if you want to use them for cookies or bread than the soft stage is best. Persimmons have a long ripening stage (6 weeks to 2 months) on the tree, which makes them a great crop.

says:    (Oct 23, 2014)

I think maybe you were expecting them to get soft like the other variety, hachiyas, but the fuyu's are perfect and the best flavor when you can eat them like an apple. When you press on them they just give a little at which time they are ready to eat. Maybe try the other variety next time.

Mark Epstein says:    (Nov 18, 2014)

I've received several boxes of Fuyos from Beck every year, and some arrive harder than others. They send beautiful fruit, very well packaged, and in sturdy boxes. Sometimes they do take a month or more to ripen, but that's the nature of the good quality fruit. In my opinion, if Fuyos are soft, you've let them go too far. To me, they are best when they have the very first bit of give, even less give than a ripe peach. Then, the flavor is great, and the moisture content is perfect. Hachiyas are a LOT more complicated to work with than Fuyos, and these Fuyos are excellent. The boxes I received last month were harder than usual, I'm not sure why, but they are ripening up now. Perhaps they should have stayed on the trees longer.



Second and Third Chance a Fail
By: janet gibbons    (May 20, 2014)

I gave them a second chance earlier in the year. They arrived frozen and I was unable to eat them. I contacted them and got no answer. I tried a third order last week. What a fool I am. Most of these are rotten. The ones that aren't are small and bitter, burning and stinging my mouth. I buy from another farm with wonderful results. The other farm stops selling when the product is below par. NEVER AGAIN!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Unbelievably delicious!
By: Eleanor Haimsohn    (Jan 12, 2014)

I'm so glad I found you and your yummy dried persimmons on the LocalHarvest website! I'm now addicted to these chewy, not too sweet, organic, and healthy snacks. The company gives fast and dependable service. I received my persimmons sooner than expected.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Lived up to every expectation
By: Leslie Farrington    (Dec 19, 2013)

I was thrilled to see organic citrus fruit offered on Local Harvest, so I ordered some satsumas, lemons and limes from Beck. They were outstanding in every way. Not a single fruit was damaged in the 1500+ mile journey, every piece looked amazing (I always shop organic and I expect flaws, but Beck obviously shipped some of their best stuff) and the taste was phenomenal. Juicy and delicious barely begins to describe it. And, for the record, I'm not a fruit lover, but I gobbled down half the box of satsumas as soon as they arrived. That's a testament to how good they were. Will definitely be ordering more!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Delicious!
By: Thia Hall    (Dec 18, 2013)

I received my order today. The lemons are gorgeous! The satsuma devine! The preserved lemons are one of the most curious and delicious flavors I've ever experienced! I'm quite tickled to see the ingredients indicate they are fermented (rather than vinegar pickled.) Everything is wonderful. :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Beautiful lemons!
By: Thia Hall    (Dec 18, 2013)

I received my order today. The lemons are gorgeous! The satsuma devine! The preserved lemons are one of the most curious and delicious flavors I've ever tasted. Everything is wonderful. :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review