Reviews for: Avalon Acres Farms

Average Review:

8 reviews



So Delicious!!
By: Allison Guidry    (Nov 9, 2011)

A couple that I know are members of Avalon Acres. I went to eat at their house one day and all of the food was absolutely delicious. I learned that pretty much everything we ate came from Avalon Acres. I needed to know more! I visited the website and learned so much about CSAs. I joined when the summer season was almost over so I didn't get to enjoy a lot of the variety of produce early summer gets. But the produce and meats that I did get was heavenly. You can definitely tell a difference between a free range chicken/egg and a grocery bought chicken/egg. Not to mention the colors of the produce (especially the bellpeppers) just seem to pop! The prices are really great compared to other CSAs. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help you identify those unknown veggies you might get (kohlrabi anyone??). They offer a 10% discount at the beginning of the season if you pay in full for the whole season. If you can't afford to pay up front, they offer convenient weekly payments as well. They provide free range turkeys for Thanksgiving. Another wonderful thing about Avalon Acres is the fact that they are a year round CSA. Most CSAs only have a summer or a winter season. I have already paid for this upcoming winter season and can't wait to see what delicious goodies I will receive!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Loving it!!
By: Shania Perris-Dannenmueller    (Nov 9, 2011)

Our family has been with Avalon Acres for almost 4 years with both the spring/summer and winter programs. We love every moment of it and all the staff are absolutely the nicest and most helpful people. We began Avalon's CSA shortly after our daughter was born because we were concerned about the quality of food we were buying in the grocery store. We researched CSA's for a year before finding Avalon and their weekly payments fit nicely into our budget. They offer a wide variety of products and it has been exciting to watch them grow and add more and more over the last several years. They offer meat and egg packages, fruits and veggies, baked goods, preserved foods, and dairy as well as an assortment of other products; each and every product is fresh and straight from the farm. They have made us feel like part of their family and we absolutely love going to the farm each year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Local CSA with Caring and Reliable service
By: Treva Barnes    (Nov 7, 2011)

My husband and I joined the Avalon Acres CSA in Spring 2010. We continued with the winter program and again with the 2011 Spring program. We have been so pleased with the quality of the fresh produce, meat, eggs and all the other special goodies offered from their program. There are many fantastic items such as, cow & goat cheeses, jams, jellies and homemade Amish pastas & breads. All are a real treat! We are so blessed to have this available in our area and we will continue to be a part of this program for a very long time. Thank you Avalon Acres for all you do to bring us local and fresh foods that are safe for our family. We look forward to our next delivery! :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Amazing Value, Amazing Variety!
By: Cindy Louallen    (Nov 7, 2011)

This was our first experience with a CSA and it was awesome! The customer service is first rate, both administratively as well as the folks who drive the trucks and bring the boxes. The guys were always glad to tell us what a 'mystery' green or veggie was. There is also a great community on Facebook also and lots of recipes both on the website and through the group on Facebook.

The variety has been really good and it gave my family a chance to try some things that I probably wouldn't have bought at the store or farmer's market.

The meat is delicious - we love, love, love the ground beef and the steaks are so flavorful.

Definitely worthwhile!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So glad we joined...
By: Jessica Nyce    (Nov 6, 2011)

This was our first time using a CSA and we could not be happier. We had been thinking about joining one for a while, but every time we looked at the others there was no variety. Then a co-worker told me about Avalon Acres. Meats, cheeses, fruits, veggies...this was the best and most affordable option.

We have really enjoyed eating locally and seasonally and there is such a better taste and quality compared to the grocery store. We could not be happier. We have now signed up for the winter CSA and are getting excited for our turkey as well.

This is a good group of people and excellent food.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Never going back!
By: Heather Throneberry    (Nov 6, 2011)

We just finished our first season (summer) with Avalon Acres and are anticipating the start of the winter season. My husband and I kicked around the idea of doing a CSA for a couple years before I stumbled upon AA. Honestly, the reason we made the jump was because they had a very wide variety of produce, along with meat and eggs, and bread, milk and cheese for an additional price, for very reasonable rates. The kicker was that they allow weekly payments instead of requiring the full season's fee up front. I can work a weekly payment into my budget much easier.

So we took the plunge. And we'll never go back to full grocery shopping. Literally, the only thing we go to the store for now is milk, lunchmeat, cheese and bread. And hopefully our budget will allow us to buy milk, cheese and bread solely from AA in the future.

Week after week, the food was in great, fresh condition. The drivers were friendly and remembered my name and face after the first few weeks, the facebook community is so helpful with getting recipes and info on foods that might be unfamiliar and the owners are great to communicate as well.

I love knowing that we're eating local, fresh, seasonal foods grown/raised by local small-scale farmers, many who are Amish or Mennonite. And the food tastes great! It's challenged me to make great meals and get out of a cooking rut. I don't have experience with other CSAs to really compare, but I do love Avalon Acres and I tell everyone I can about them!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Delicious year-round CSA
By: Kelly Larabie    (Nov 6, 2011)

My family just completed our 4th year with Avalon Acres Farms CSA. We tried another CSA before and their produce was just fine, however, we wanted more from a CSA. We discovered Avalon Acres and were thrilled that they offered not only local, seasonal produce but also meat & eggs. We made the switch & aren't going anywhere. We participate in the spring/summer program which is 26 weeks long. It starts around the beginning of April and runs until the end of Oct/beginning of Nov. Everything is picked & packed fresh from the farms. You can taste the freshness. My kids eat more vegetables now then they ever did and I think it is because you can really taste what they are meant to taste like. Produce from the grocery store is so bland compared to fresh, local, in season produce. My family gets the 1/2 share of produce each week along with meat & eggs. When you sign up with Avalon Acres you can pick what you want. They have packages that give you 1 beef cut, 1 pork cut, 1 chicken cut plus eggs, or just 1 meat cut and eggs, or pick exactly what you want. If you get a rotated cut package they will send you a different cut of meat each delivery...pork chops, pork roast, country ham (just some of the pork cuts). All animals are pasture-raised, grass fed. Happy animals = great tasting meat! During the winter season, delivery is every 2 weeks, and you get winter produce (squash, sweet potatoes, etc) along with preserved goods from the abundance of the summer. You can still get meat & eggs. They offer local honey (when available), sorghum, ground corn meal, baked goods, and local cow & goat cheeses. Choosing Avalon Acres Farms CSA provides your family with fabulous, locally grown/raised healthy food but also supports many farming families in Middle TN (many small Amish farms). The owners of Avalon Acres Farms, Tim & Jen Bodnar, are wonderful, kind & caring people. They care about the land, the animals, their farmers, and all their customers. The staff of Avalon Acres Farms are just as kind & caring. Our delivery drivers have always been helpful & friendly. Customer service is great as well. If you run into a problem, they are quick to find a resolution that works. Each year that we are a part of Avalon Acres Farms CSA, we learn more about the produce we receive and buy less at the grocery store. They have a farm blog, recipe blog, and a group on Facebook that is very supportive & helpful. You won't go wrong by joining. It isn't too late.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful selection
By: Kristin    (Aug 5, 2008)

This is a wonderful CSA program with many different pick up locations and options. They also have a wonderful selection of produce, meat, bread, and whatever is available such as honey, molasses, eggs, bread, cinnamon rolls and more. They have reasonable prices and the produce has been excellent. I have also found them to be generous with there shares as the season crops become plentiful. They are nice to work with and they also have an awesome blog that really makes you feel like you can get to know where your food is coming from.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review