Reviews for: Gourmet Popcorn Shop

Average Review:

14 reviews



The most unusual Pumpkin
By: Joseph Rauseo    (Sep 4, 2013)

This was the first year of growing this pumpkin and I'm quite impressed by it. It's a variety that needs lots of room as the vines grow 20' or more with one or more pumpkins on each vine. In fact it is September 4th and the vines are still putting out new fruit, They are quite unusual, you are looking for round pumpkins and these young ones are pencil shape and color. The profile states 20-25# fruit and for the most part it's true but I got several in the 30#'s and above and one that topped the scale at 49 1/2#'s which was grown on a old gravel roadbed.The base of the pumpkin has the seed and such but rest is solid unlike regular pumpkins We are in drought conditions here in Missouri so I have watered regularly and heavy, this may have contributed to the success we've had as we have harvested nearly 1200 #'s as of this date from an area of about 10,000 sq.ft. I will be growing it next year

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great form and intensely saturated color
By: Anne Wellman    (Aug 22, 2013)

I could never do without zinnias. Their shaggy form is a nice change from round petals. The orange were a good shock of color, and butterflies love them, too.

Next year I'll stake all of them due to some falling over in wind or from wild animals walking through the bed. Another option is to put down twiggy branches for them to grow through which get covered up by their leaves eventually but support the plants, but I didn't think to do that this year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fine display
By: Anne Wellman    (Aug 22, 2013)

The Orange Wonder snaps did very well in my Delaware garden zone 6 or 7, perhaps not as orange as shown in the picture, but still I was happy with the display. I planted them indoors in pots to start, thinned out the many seedlings, then transplanted outside into a bed. After they bloomed and were dead-headed they produced again and are still blooming in mid-August. Due to some partial shading from taller coneflowers nearby they didn't quite have full sun, but that didn't seem to bother them.

A friend who was given some seedlings grew hers in a large pot and they were spectacular.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Very pleasing combinations
By: Anne Wellman    (Aug 22, 2013)

I live in Delaware, zone 6 and planted these in pots first in full sun to get them going, but then transplanted them carefully when they had flowers into a bed against the house that only gets hot morning sun. I added water retention granules since we would be away in July.

They've done very well despite the half-day sun and are blooming continuously in this mixed bed of purples, pinks, and white paired with fuscia and white dianthus, dark purple petunias, purple sage, pink celosia, lavender Angelonia, white Alyssum, pink begonias and Balsam in pinks and whites. I dead-headed them to keep them blooming and fertilized once in awhile. A cheery, happy little pompom of a flower!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



In part shade
By: Anne Wellman    (Aug 21, 2013)

Raspberry Sorbet was started in a pot in full sun in Delaware, then I transplanted it (very carefully) to a place by the house that only rec'd hot morning sun and it performed beautifully. This was my first experience with it and with Sunrise Seeds, and I wasn't disappointed!

I like the smaller packets of seeds since we don't have a huge garden.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best lettuce ever! 5 stars!
By: Sharon Ettinger    (Jun 6, 2012)

Bought seedlings of Buttercrunch from a farmstand 6 weeks ago and have been harvesting the best lettuce ever. Leaves are crunchy, dark green and tolerate heat very well. Grows well with morning sun till 2 pm. I'm ordering seeds now. This is sure to be my go to lettuce for growing.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fabulous!
By: Karen A Rapp    (Jul 20, 2011)

What gorgeous color in these zinnias! They are beautiful!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Susan Hufford says:    (Jan 8, 2012)

Thanks so much Karen! I appreciate knowing you were pleased!



Not what it seems
By: Marie Ronald    (Jun 23, 2011)

Perhaps its just me, but I ordered two packages of Ferry Morse zinnia seeds - one being Giant Lavender Gem, the other Giant Violet Queen - a dark purple. I now have a garden of very average sized zinnias with one or two rows of petals instead of the deep heads shown on the packets - and lots of yellow center. They are what I would call light pink and magenta. The terms "violet" and "Lavender" suggest a bluish tone - not pink.

I would really be happy if I could get flowers that look like the picture.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Susan Hufford says:    (Jan 18, 2012)

Wish this customer would have contacted me about this issue giving me a chance to discuss it before she made a post. Maybe I could have helped them. Susan