Reviews for: Heritage Turkey Farm

Average Review:

7 reviews



Truth in Advertising
By: Tom Knapp    (Oct 30, 2014)

I'm in full support of raising turkeys humanely, feeding them properly and allowing them to interact in a way that meets their social needs. Stating you use no hormones is misleading: IT IS ILLEGAL TO USE HORMONES IN POULTRY . . . by anybody in the USA. This is true if you are a multi-billion dollar turkey/chicken company or just a backyard farmer.

Saying I don't dilute my honey with pcb's is just as truthful . . . See what I mean?

Keep up the good work and I wish you every continued success! ! !

BTW: I love raising / breeding turkeys. They are a fantastic bird! ! !

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Dear Price Complainer
By: Kathleen Graham-Arbogust    (Nov 8, 2013)

First, it is not an easy decision for a family farmer to price their food at what appears to some as being unaffordable. A family farmer teeters between the need for repeat customers and ensuring they can continue to do all the work for other families while remaining capable of feeding their own from the land and beast, as well as the profit from hard, back-breaking, and sometimes hearbreaking work.

Second, do the math: this happens ONCE a year. For that one time, you should want to give your family and guests the very best that good, hard-earned money can buy. Calculate how many people...or, more appropriately, how many plates, will be served by that one bird! How much per plate is that? Less than $20 for a luxurious, indulgent, never-had-it-taste-this-good meal. And that's not counting left overs. AND...don't waste that carcass--add to some water with celery, carrots, onions, salt and pepper, and it will make the most phenomenal stock to use for soup now, or freeze for later. Heritage, especially organic heritage, is the best.

"Additional" math, pun intended--give up those fast-food drive thru meals, or unhealthy snacks, or chain-restaurant dine-outs for a month or two and put the savings toward your Thanksgiving bird--remember, add it to what you already would have budgeted to spend on the inhumanely raised, in-organic tasteless bird from the chain store supermarket. Suddenly you can afford what you blamed that hard-working farmer for overpricing.

It's called THANKSGIVING...and for you, if you choose to serve the very best, you will RECEIVE more thanks for your efforts and sacrifice than you ever received for this traditional meal before.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Turkey Ever!!
By: Philip Fleming    (Nov 26, 2012)

This turkey was worth the high price for our family's Thanksgiving meal. We baked a 17 lb bird and it served up 7 hungry adults and we still had plenty of left-overs. The meat had a delicious rich flavor and the dark meat was darker than any other turkey meat we've ever had. We were all thankful that a small farmer was still producing this high quality of turkey - and we would like to see more small farms doing the same.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



NON Fertile eggs
By: linda fromm    (Apr 5, 2012)

bought and paid for fertile turkey eggs, over $85 with shipping. Not 1 egg hatched. He claims I don't know how to hatch eggs. I have hatched chicken, duck and guinea eggs no problem, but I guess turkey eggs are extra special. Total BS in my book. Been farming for over 40 years never heard such a line of &%^$ in my life. Thanks for nothing.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Otto Beebe says:    (May 8, 2012)

Linda, Sorry to hear about your experience. We have some turkey eggs, and I can send them to you, just email me ottobeebe@gmail.com. I just set 28 eggs, and we had 15 hatch, with 13 survive. It was our first attempt, so someone with experience would probably do better. Otto

mari lapointe says:    (Oct 24, 2014)

Dear Turkey Egg-buyer: You probably meant it sarcastically when you said that "turkey eggs are special", but you hit it on the head. Perhaps you could ask the seller for the opinions from his other egg buyers on the value of buying his eggs to hatch, the hatch rate they had, their hatching techniques and appliances used, their hygrometer & thermometer/alarm & recording devices used to get accurate details on hatching turkey eggs. Yes, turkey eggs are "special" in a few ways, when it comes to later stage hatching humidity & temperature reductions. It was just a while ago I learned that I didn't have to bother checking those readings on the last few days, that I could have been hurting the hatch by opening the appliance to check the readings. Now, I have in/out alarmed hygrometer/thermometer device inside which gives me a remote reading in the house, alarming if anything goes up/down from the temps/humidity I set it for. You have the experience it takes to learn turkey hatching, but anyone who hatches will caution about buying eggs thru mail sources, since the seller CANNOT control whatever microwave, heat or vibration they might inflict on the egg-mailing container. The same is true with day-olds. My one & only $365 dozen turkey dayolds taught me that; 13 sent to me, the 13th was dead at the Post Office, 11 were dead within 5 wks. I got one $365 hen from that purchase and the seller, "e-Fowl" played dumb, phone-tag and passing the buck games until I could no longer play. No reimbursement!!! Don't buy e-Fowl! Hope you have a network of Heritage Turkey folks in your area to consult with. The old timers taught me, and GAVE me, tons of knowledge and birds, too! They still come to me when they need something, and that's priceless to be in their flock! One of them will have a contact who goes to bird shows or state fairs who you can contract to buy good looking birds eggs for you or newly hatched, or get a good, local contact for you. You obviously are looking for what this seller has, and you are right to presume you need to get that from a turkey handraised in high human contact from day one! But, you can get that from a grown turkey or poult of 3-6 months, past the hard stages, who WAS already home flock, human hand raised by someone else. My birds are sold as poults and adults, and not one has ever been anything but stone-pure pets of the great folks who bought them, because that's how I raise them...they are my babies, I give many names, can give the buyer a health history, any known quirks of that bird(s), recommend non-blood relatives they can buy from other trusted local breeders when they want to breed their babies later on. I want my buyers to be as in-love and happy with their birds as I am with the price I sacrifice them at. Not one of my birds is ever sold at any real profit. No one could afford to keep buying feed if they priced what these turkeys are worth in what we pay to put into them, and every sale is a Prayer of Thanksgiving from us to God, cuz we always are on the brink of disaster, needing to buy feed every week, but needing to have the money to do that with. So, look at what your heart has for it's reasons for having a home flock, forgive this seller for whatever the reason was for failure of the eggs you bought, get busy with your state Agr. Dept, talk to the State Biologists for contacts in Heritage Turkeys, to your State Fair folks, shake down your feed stores for other breeders, put notices in grain stores, groceries, country stores, etc, stop at farms, leave a note with your inquiry and contact info, someone will get back to you. Most states have Fowl societies, try Googling or Craigs Listing searches for Heritage Breed Turkeys in your area. I wish you were close by, but I would nevr sell eggs; we just had the worst hatch rates of 20 yrs, in the last 4 yrs, 2014 was the worst of the 4! I am mad at myself and have reworked our appliance & device, but still, the rain/cold kept the Tom and jakes from getting amorous, and the hens got confused, doubled up on nests and got broody before the nests were full and many eggs were infertile anyway. They sat overly long on bad eggs and the 2nd nests were too late, the toms got lazy and were hardly mounting hens at all. Many other breeders reported the same for spring 2014. But, we will try again next year with hope in our hearts.



Turkeys for the Elite
By: The 99%    (Nov 19, 2011)

I'm sure these are delicious Turkeys but your average working class family sure can't afford them! Organic Turkeys for the rich as the 99% won't be having them served on their table. Unfortunely many Americans will be getting there Thanksgiving meal from the food bank. The gap between the rich & poor has never been wider and growing every day. Remeber that as your stuffing your face...

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

The 1% says:    (Nov 23, 2011)

I presume that this individual's inability to spell correctly, or to use appropriate language (please in the future note the difference between Their / There and Your / You're), and therefore an assumed inability to fill out an application for any job other than as a convenience store clerk or dog walker, provides ample free time to pen such ridiculous diatribes. Happy Thanksgiving!

Maggie A calmels says:    (Oct 18, 2012)

Good Answer

says:    (Oct 24, 2012)

Must we go to war over a review? I agree the price is high. But, this guy is probably barely breaking even. If you can't afford to have someone else do all the work for you, try doing it yourself and you will gain the knowledge of why the price is up there. I live in the country and raise my own turkeys, chickens, ducks, geese and vegetables. It's not cheap and it's a lot of work. I am not in the 1%. I raise as much of my own food as I can. My food is free-ranged, home-grown and processed by me. Therefore, my food is better than the "super-market" variety. I said better, not cheaper. No, I don't work, I'm retired after 41 years. My penmanship is not the best. Don't attack one another. Aim your anger at our government, who causes these prices to be high. High oil prices affect every item you use, wear, eat, etc.

Brian Kile says:    (Nov 1, 2012)

It's unfortunate that we do have to pay high prices for quality foods. Not gourmet. Not imported. Just quality foods raised in a healthy environment by farmers and their families who care about what they and YOU put on your table. But as part of the 99% you do have a voice. Demand that commercial producers switch to organic, sustainable and above all healthy methods of providing us food. And if you think the farmers are making all the money...Go talk to the people at Jennie-O and ask what their bottom line is and what means they took to keep their costs down at the expense of your family's health.



This is how turkeys SHOULD taste!
By: Susan D Martin    (Sep 28, 2011)

THIS is how I remember our Thanksgiving and Christmas turkeys tasting in the 50s, before those "Butterball" birds flooded the market. Some of my dinner guests were from England, and after one bite they all said, "Where did you get this? Is this a wild turkey? This is how they're supposed to taste!" One drumstick never made it to the table as we all sampled it while I was carving...sublime! The included hints for successfully roasting the bird are most helpful; and there was really no need for continual basting as the turkey took much less time to cook than a "conventional" one. I also remember the leaner breast and the long legs from those long-ago turkeys. This bird's legs looked healthy from use, and the wings appeared of sufficient size and strength to actually allow the turkey to fly. I would most definitely recommend Heritage Turkey Farm; the bird arrived well-packed and frozen and was the most delicious turkey I've had since I was a kid! The prices are also reasonable for such an outstanding "product".

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Oct 12, 2011)

I'm sure this turkey is every bit as good as you say it is.but $130.00 for a 10-13 lb turkey is reasonable???!!!.Not in my universeI don't think the average or even above average person has a food budget that would allow this kind of purchase..even for a holiday..Is it just me or what??

Robert Both says:    (Nov 21, 2011)

I guess you have never ordered Prime Rib or Ribeye steaks.. Chuck Steak must be your choice.. Turkeys in stores are sold as "loss leaders" meaning they actually make no profit duing the promotion.. just to get you in their store.. In most cases you are paying less for a heritage turkey than a ribeye steak. Few farmers raise these turkeys and even less sell them.. If you have never tasted one.. you don't know what you are missing.



Wonderful turkeys!
By: Bonni Miller    (Mar 2, 2009)

We use the Heritage Turkey Farm birds at our restaurant, the Chez Marche Cafe, and the birds that the Boths raise are wonderful. They're juicy, tender, full of flavor and vitality. We just love them. And we're so impressed with their dedication to preserving this rare breed. This is a high quality product and we recommend them wholeheartedly. Just leave some birds for us! Bonni Miller Cook/owner Chez Marche Cafe Waupaca, WI

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

joan white says:    (Apr 27, 2010)

just watching Picthen in with chef lynn how do you order your turkeys Thank You Joan White