Reviews for: Rainbow Ranch Farms

Average Review:

70 reviews



Know your farmer, know your food
By: Cecilia Murphy    (Aug 10, 2012)

Hard working dedicated and clean! What more can I say, oh ya healthy and delicious!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 11, 2012)

CC Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate your participation, and look forward to seeing you every month. Thank you!



Free education yummy food
By: Danite Covington    (Aug 10, 2012)

Beyond the tasty meat that my family enjoys. Their willingness to allow volunteer help to learn about sustainable living hands on is amazing! I have been able to add to my knowledge and in turn teach others! I will be a lifetime member and encourage all my friends to be aware of the food they eat and the foot print they leave behind! Thank you rainbow ranch farms for all you do in our community!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 10, 2012)

Danite, We thank you for your dedication, and hard work, you are amazing! ***********************************************************************************From careful, chick-brooder care, raking/hauling manure, to loading hogs and so much more, you are a champ. Thank you for your kind feedback, your membership, participation and, for volunteering!



Wow !!
By: Kim DuBois    (Aug 10, 2012)

I cannot say enough about this wonderful farm and it's owners. Co-op days are such a blast, people from all walks, families. I've met so many wonderful interesting people.

And they are all coming to this place because they want the best possible foods for themselves and their families. They keep coming back because they know R.R.F. has the highest standards when it comes to maintaining the health and integrity of the meats. And R.R.F. associates themselves with other like minded people who strive to come back to eating the way we should be eating. Fresh wholesome foods, free of all the garbage.

And they keep coming back because Xenia and Dennis have cultivated a wonderful peaceful place. They bend over backwards to lend a hand, educate, making sure members are aware of events and that members are happy with the product and services offered.

I am proud to know these people! Can't wait until I can get back there !!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 10, 2012)

Kim, I had no idea you felt this way, LOL. Thank you for bringing morning coffee on pick-up days, thank you for volunteering, even when your schedule is hectic. You, your entire family and on several occasions, your friends too.. have all come together to make lives a little bit easier. I remember the snow storm that leveled the back-farm, and it seemed that you brought everyone from the high desert to build it back up. Thank you for your great feedback, your friendship, participation, membership and help.



Rainbow Ranch Rocks
By: stephan guez    (Aug 9, 2012)

indeed, they do.

rainbow ranch farms, beyond the excellent quality of the meat, is MOST concerned with customer satisfaction.

i ordered two thanksgiving turkeys that arrived, as promised, in time for thanksgiving, one year. the birds were beautiful and delicious and were in the range of weight i was promised, however, i called and complained because they were on the smaller side of the scale, that year. it was a very difficult year, i remember the weather going nuts.

Xenia was wonderful. she very peaceably and sweetly explained that i DID receive what i paid for. however, to KEEP me a happy customer, she sent me a protein basket, the following spring. The protein basket was so good, i signed up for a share of protein baskets.

Rainbow Ranch Farms practices excellent business etiquette. i HIGHLY recommend joining and getting no nonsense food from the COOLEST farmers i know.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

stephan guez says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

HIGHLY

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 10, 2012)

Stephan, Thank you for your generous feedback. I remember that year, with the 2 turkeys. We are blessed to know you, and we thank you, for all your generosity. Over the years, we have become close, and we appreciate your friendship. Thank you for your farm membership, thanks for volunteering, and always being supportive.



Best C.S.A. Program
By: Darlene Finch    (Aug 9, 2012)

Thanks to Local Harvest and Rainbow Ranch Farms we are farm-direct for all our foods.

We have learned a lot about farming, and ranching, from R.R.F. I have personally volunteered to load and transport lambs, cattle and hogs, for processing (from Paso Robles to Los Angeles, and it has been a great experience knowing where my family-meals come from. I am a proud R.R.F. member and volunteer.

I agree with Mary, that the farm needs more volunteers, and I also feel the same way as the Bell family, when it comes to the farm members, artisan market co-op vendors, R.R.F. and K.B. As individuals and as a group, they are, a kind, caring, giving, hard working and helpful people.

We, as a family are dedicated and supportive members of Rainbow Ranch Farms.

P.S. To Mary: We would like to come volunteer on your farm, please let me know when we can come and visit you.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Mary T. Erstad says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

yesterday please!

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

Thank you for your wonderful, and kind feedback!



NUMERO UNO IS UPON US
By: Mary T. Erstad    (Aug 9, 2012)

RRF has the best fresh meats on this planet! As a weekly volunteer I see and participate in the relentless detail and attention given to these animals and the processes to get them to the members. This is anything but a care free undertaking and takes a huge pioneering spirit. Xenia is unmatched in her tiring abilities to farm and weather the intense realities of this business. I've been on this farm for five years now and have nothing but praise...and scars and bruises....lol She has been blessed with an incredibly strong member base who are equally serious because they know what they want. They are doctors, lawyers, fitness trainers, connoisseurs, experts in their fields who appreciate what it takes to deliver. There are no vacations and we need more volunteers!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Darlene Finch says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

Hey, remember the sound engineers, and pilots too! This was a great review, and you have inspired me to volunteer my wife, on a more regular basis (LOL). By the time we leave the farm, she has named all the lambs and pigs, and now she wants me to buy the kids one of those small, New Zealand pigs too! Thanks for being a huge help on the farm, we appreciate your hard work. Dave and Darlene

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

Thank you for your generous feedback!



Great Food and Wholesome Too!
By: Darlene Finch    (Aug 8, 2012)

Thanks to Rainbow Ranch Farms, we eat as healthy as possible. We pick-up our fresh meats, at the farm, and the whole family loves the experience.

Farm to Fork, is the best way, and we love knowing our farmers. During last pick-up, we even enjoyed some delicious cooked meats, that were prepared in the luau pit.

Dennis helped us pick a few zucchinni, right out of the Rainbow Ranch garden, and those were served with dinner, the same evening (sliced, and roasted over an open fire, smothered in butter, yum).

It is not just pick-up, it is an event, for our whole family! Thank you, to our farmers, who work every day, including holidays!

Darlene and Dave

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

Thank you for your feedback, it is most appreciated!



I wanted to join...
By: Veronnica Peters    (Aug 2, 2012)

I've been looking into a few different farms in our area and inquiring about becoming a member. RRF looked very promising so I called to get a little information. This is a new experience for us and I wasn't sure what to expect and was naturally a little intimidated. The first few minutes of the conversation were very awkward and when unfriendly. We were having a hard time communicating and I felt like she expected me to already know the things I asked her about. I said, "I'm interested in becoming a member and your website is a little vague so I called." I don't think I've ever offended anyone more. I mean it was as if I had insulted a member of her family. Maybe it's just me but I think I'd want to know if a part of my business could use improvement. Obviously I saw it and still had questions... What kinds of services do you provide? Are you accepting new members? What types of foods are available right now? The only way I can get any information is paying $100??? If these are on the website and I completely missed them (totally possible) I understand but she was just mean and disappointing and overly sensitive.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Veronnica Peters says:    (Aug 2, 2012)

Her response was, "Oh no. My website is VERY detailed." So apparently I'm just stupid. Sorry. I'll bother someone else with my business.

Lesterbelly says:    (Aug 8, 2012)

Sometimes Xenia can be abrasive, but you aren't calling for her personality, you're calling to get access to the amazing products that she provides... Perhaps the patience needs to be on your end? I find asking very direct questions is helpful. I will forever be a dedicated farm member to Rainbow Ranch Farms. Never have I seen a farming operation with such integrity with regards to feed, nutrition, and transparency. I recommend giving it another try. It's worth it, trust me. :)

Mary T. Erstad says:    (Aug 8, 2012)

RRF has the best fresh meats on this planet! As a weekly volunteer I see and participate in the relentless detail and attention given to these animals and the processes to get them to the members. This is anything but a care free undertaking and takes a huge pioneering spirit. Xenia is unmatched in her tiring abilities to farm and weather the intense realities of this business. I've been on this farm for five years now and have nothing but praise...and scars and bruises....lol She has been blessed with an incredibly strong member base who are equally serious because they know what they want. They are doctors, lawyers, fitness trainers, connoisseurs, experts in their fields who appreciate what it takes to deliver. There are no vacations and we need more volunteers!

Adriana Bell says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

Our family has known Xenia for over 5years and she is a wealth of information regarding livestock and poultry! You are getting top notch quality dense food for what you pay for in membership! She has provided for our family Co-Op for years now and there is nothing but praise! We have a member of our Co-Op that travels a distance to purchase her poultry by the case. This member know quality meat! Not only is Xenia a expertise in her field, she has been a dear friend to our family and been there during our darkest time as a family! We are thankful to be part of her farm as members and friends! Even our chickens thank her! All hugs and love to Xenia and Dennis. PS I agree with Mary that they need more help to keep that farm running! It is a major task in what she does and her time is limited!

Katherine Bracken Ward says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

I have known Xenia and Dennis for several years. I am a farm member and I also own a small-scale educational farm with an experimental agricultural station (drylands growing and native crops). Not only are their products the best I've ever had, Xenia and Dennis are the among the most community-minded people I've ever met in this region. So we have in Rainbow Ranch Farms the best organic meat in southern California, quite possibly in the state, and a serious outreach to the local community. I'm not sure what happened with this reviewer but my own experience with Xenia has been with a very caring and concerned professional woman. I know that Xenia has given so much of herself for people in need in the community. I have lived in this community for over 30 years and never seen a farm like Rainbow Ranch, in quality, service, and commitment to the animals and to the people in this region. I began an educational outreach for food justice and ecological growing several years ago. Xenia has helped me in so many ways in my own endeavors. Her generous spirit matches her quality products.

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

Since this review section is provided with compliments, by Localharvest.org specifically for farm-member, consumer and customer, review, it is always appreciated to hear back from actual members, participants and customers. **************************************************************************** The validity of the review from Veronica Peters, should be considered, under "suspicious circumstances". No one (rancher, farmer, volunteer or participant) at this farm recalls any such person or conversation, and the facts are, that Veronica Peters is not a registered farm member, nor a customer or consumer of this farm. **************************************************************************** The above statement being said, I thank you all for your generous feedback, and please know that your satisfaction is of the greatest importance to us. ***************************************************************************** To Clarify: This is a private, exclusive, and member-only farm. An application must be submitted, reviewed, and membership must be approved by the farm. We reserve the right to decline membership opportunity, especially when the potential member, does not share our philosophy, is not like-minded, polite, or simply does not know what they are looking for. **************************************************************************** Our website is very clear, to anyone who can read, as to what we do, what we grow, our feeding specifics, and how we do it. We also have online stores (open to the general public) on localharvest.org as well as on our website "Online Farm Stand", Facebook, and more..featuring a limited, U.S.D.A. inspected, product-line with descriptions, details and prices. ***************************************************************************** To our valued members, customers, participants and volunteers, we thank you for your participation, honest responses, and kind words. Rainbow Ranch Farms

stephan guez says:    (Aug 9, 2012)

i love Xenia and Dennis. i felt a strong kinship to them since i have met them. even though i see them once in a while, they always treat me wonderfully. it is like a sort of family reunion every time i get to see them and the animals and everyone else around for pickup days. they are no b______t people. well, i guess they shovel a lot of it. ;o)

Danite Covington says:    (Aug 10, 2012)

You must have caught her on a bad day! Xenia and Dennis both have been very nice to me and my teenage sons. When I ask a question she always says-my way isn't the only way. I encourage you to be active in what you do and how you do it. What works for me might not work for you. And off I go to research and share with her and she always says-good job! Now make it happen and know I'm here to support you 100%!!!!

Veronnica Peters says:    (Aug 16, 2012)

It really said something to me that so many people came to the defense of RRF. I would have considered my review harsh until I read her response. She remembers me. I ended up hanging up on her because she was so rude to me. Not sure what was "suspicious" about my review... Do agrarians slander other agrarians for the sake of deterring business to themselves? I'm very glad you've all found a farm you trust. For me, someone who can't take simple constructive criticism is too sensitive of a person for me to deal with. I'm sorry I didn't know what I was talking about and I'm sorry for hoping to learn from you. I've since learned, from other farms, that no question is a stupid question. Obviously you aren't hurting for business so I'm sure you won't mind if I spend my money somewhere else. Thanks again for you responses everyone.

Veronnica Peters says:    (Aug 16, 2012)

By the way... Implying that I can't read. Thumbs up to you.