Reviews for: Rainbow Ranch Farms

Average Review:

70 reviews



Humane Farming needs something from us all
By: Angel Gulermovich    (Aug 3, 2011)

The five stars in this review are for both the high-quality products and the customer service Rainbow Ranch Farms has to offer. I cannot recommend either the product, the farm itself (in terms of how the animals are treated), or my experience dealing with Xenia highly enough. I simply haven't the words to praise them highly enough.

The following is in response to the negative review posted on July 30.

The grocery store experience is created by factory farming. They can provide people with whatever cuts they want, whenever they want, because of the scale of their business model. That model involves huge slaughterhouses, and animals that are forced to live unthinkably horrible lives I would expect that anyone reading this would be all too aware of that.

Small family farms don't work like that, and heritage breeds dont work like that. They operate on small scales, and not every animal has the exact same number of type of cut that the poor factory-farmed animals do. By supporting small family farms we help our society move away from a food production model that is simply WRONG. But to do so, we need to start thinking about our own consumption differently. We need to be more flexible in our meal planning than if we were shopping at the supermarket. Yes, in general you're not going to know exactly what cuts you're going to get when you order beef or pork. I for one will gladly give that up in order to know that the cow or pig was well-taken care of and had a good life while it walked upon the earth.

Know your farm, know your farmer, know your farm animals. Supporting this farm is a direct way to aid the cause of humane farming. Our entire society needs to re-think how we think about food production, and this starts with each of us making a small mental shift. We can't expect the farmers to do 100% of the work; changing the world means changing ourselves first.

Thank you, Xenia and Dennis, for loving your animals so much and for taking such good care of them. I am honored to be your customer.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Incredible Food. Incredible Service. Incredible People
By: Stephen Rudicel    (Aug 3, 2011)

I have been buying chickens and turkeys from Rainbow Ranch Farms for years. The quality is always superior to any other alternatives and her birds have been the stars of many dinners and have always made me look good. I have always found their shipping and customer service to be top notch. Now I am enjoying their meat and find that too, of superior quality. Their farm is clean and efficient. They open their doors to the public and, if you want, they will talk to you about their husbandry practices with great joy and pride. Xenia and Dennis are hard working, good, and fun people offering a fantastic, healthful, and sustainable alternative to conventional meat. Know your food, know your farmer.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



excellent chicken
By: Jon Marshall    (Jun 27, 2011)

This was my first time cooking with heritage chickens. Completely different from commercial chicken. I absolutely love the texture and rich flavor. I'm HOOKED. Also the customer service was excellent.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Premium quality meat and excelllent customer service!
By: Karissa Bowser    (Jun 26, 2011)

I've been ordering from Rainbow Ranch Farms for almost a year and I've always had the most outstanding quality meat! Furthermore, the customer service is beyond outstanding! I'm so glad that I discovered Rainbow Ranch Farms, I have become a loyal customer and I highly recommend them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful!!!
By: Cheryl Boardman    (May 28, 2011)

I was vegetarian for 24 years. In November of last year our 7 year old daughter was diagnosed with Juvenille Diabetes. Our family was devastated. My daughter can only have a handful of items that she gets "free" (without a painful shot). Meat is one of them. So started my quest to provide her with the best possible meat AND feel secure that I was supporting farmers who treat their animals humanely and naturally. After EXTENSIVE research I found Rainbow Ranch Farms. Not only is their meat delicious, but it is local and raised with the care that I would give if I raised these animals myself. That was VERY important to me if I was even going to consider eating meat . I did not take this decision lightly, but I am so grateful that I am now able to enjoy meals with my whole family and model the importance of providing healthy meals with locally grown foods. Thank you Rainbow Ranch Farms!!!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



wonderful food
By: kat wat    (May 27, 2011)

Have been purchasing the meat and eggs from this farm for almost 1 yr now. My mother and mother in law are from Europe and both of them have eaten the chicken from Rainbow Ranch farms. They both rave over how this chicken is like the chicken they ate in Europe. So flavorful and unattainable for them in this country until now. They now visit just to eat the chicken- which is great by me- I get to eat it too. My kids love eating chicken as well and there is no longer any "Oh mom not chicken again!" from them. Even my husband doesn't mind chicken now. My mom has been wondering when she could get a decent chicken in this country to make soup with as every other chicken was tasteless and mealy. Not anymore. The beef and pork products are great too.The eggs taste rich and I love the deep golden yolks. It gives me great satisfaction to feed my family good food and know where it comes from. I am so happy to have found these good people and this wonderful farm.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Who's your farmer?
By: Kristin Petherbridge    (Mar 31, 2011)

I'm so excited to be able to say that I know my farmer!

I guess I sort of knew the people who raised the last cow share I ordered before becoming a Rainbow Ranch member - if looking over a website can be considered getting to know them.

That was better than buying the cellophane-wrapped feedlot meats from the grocery store - and I was glad to purchase direct from a farm and satisfied with the meat and the whole transaction.

But I really wanted to *know* my farmer and the farm - to visit the farm, see the animals, meet those involved in person, and bring my children there.

I want my kids to understand and appreciate where our meat comes from.

I want meat from humanely treated, free range, grain-free, grass-fed, animals.

I want meat from a farm as close to me as possible.

I thought I was asking too much and had almost given up when I remembered my neighbor had told me about Rainbow Ranch Farms chicken CSA a while back. I revisited the website, called Xenia, talked to my neighbor, and invested in the 2010 Food4Life program without hesitation & great excitement for the year to come!

I have not been disappointed - Xenia is wonderful, the meats are amazing, and my family couldn't be happier!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Tastiest animals this side of Heaven!
By: Kathleen Johnson    (Mar 31, 2011)

If they could only make a commercial not only using "happy cows", but happy chickens, pigs, and whatever other animal roams on Rainbow Ranch Farms! The most delicious and tender meat we've tasted in years :-) Thanking our Lord for our Bible Fellowship group in S. CA (zinyi.com) to introduce us to Rainbow Ranch Farms and the importance of eating healthy :-) Thank you Xenia for everything and may God bless you and your farm always!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review