Reviews for: Rainbow Ranch Farms

Average Review:

70 reviews



Beef Share
By: Micki Brown    (Jun 24, 2010)

I just purchased and received my first Beef Share from Rainbow Ranch Farms. The experience from start to finish was wonderful. After I took delivery of the meat, I couldn't wait to try it out. I made burritos with a package of the ground beef ... absolutely the best at-home burrito I have ever had ... the meat is very flavorful and it's great to know that nothing "bad" (hormones, antibiotics, etc.) went into raising the steer. We tried a chuck steak a couple of days later, and again, very tasty. I am looking forward to making more purchases with Rainbow Ranch Farms. Thank you Xenia.

Micki Brown

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Feb 22, 2011)

Hi Micki, Thank you for your wonderful feedback, our small farm operates 100% on member support, and we appreciate your continued participation. BTW, who named all those strange beef cuts "Chuck Steak"? Who was Chuck?.



Only the BEST!!!
By: Adriana Bell    (Jun 24, 2010)

Our family runs an organic local produce coop in the high desert and we are proud to carry only the best locally grown poultry on the planet...Rainbow Ranch Farms Heritage Poultry. I wont carry another and choose to support a farm who practices are above and beyond organic!

My family has tasted other chickens on the market and none compares to Xenia poultry! Since she has a NO CORN diet among her "ladies" our tummies can tolerate the chicken -other kinds of poultry dont agree with us.

Thank you Xenia and Dennis for all your hard work-it does pay off. And for even putting my sweet hubby to work....boy he looks good when he comes home!!!

BTW..those chicken feet-can you imagine a polished nail color?

Love you much Bell Family

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Feb 22, 2011)

Thank you for your continued participation. We are happy to serve the needs of your family, freinds, neighbors and local co-op. Thank you, Scott for helping us on the farm and Adri, thanks for organizing a winter farm tour. It was our pleasure to host your Winter tour, it was our first Winter tour ever. Thanks to all the Mom's, Dad's, little kids and big kids for taking the time to come and visit our farm, it is always nice to meet people with common interests, thank you for giving us the opprtunity to share our back to basics farming traditions with your family. Remeber, I heard, "we would love to come back and volunteer, help and RAKE!" LOL-LOL Yippie.. Call me 1-760-868-6206



Chicken-Off
By: Renee Dake Wilson    (Jan 1, 2010)

After some deliberation, I have just renewed my 1/2 share of poultry CSA for 2010. Here's my story.

It all started when October came and I had only one Rainbow Ranch Farm chicken left in my freezer, but needed 2 to learn how to cook enchiladas from a friend of mine. I bought two Trader Joe's Natural chickens and was BLOWN AWAY at the visual difference: size, color and fat content especially. The stock we made from those chickens had to be strained for fat several times, unlike our new normal of fat-free stock from the Rainbow Ranch Farms chickens. This stark contrast set me up for the "chicken-off."

We have a few friends who enjoy our breed of food intensity: going local, organic and whole for everything possible. We invited over two like-minded friends, and one friend with only a passing interest in food. We broiled yams and steamed chard from our vegetable CSA, and baked three contestant chickens: 3.5# Rainbow Ranch Farms "100% Buddhist style", 4.5# Mary's air-chilled from Whole Foods, and 6.5# Trader Joe's Natural. Once again, the visual contrast was stark. They were definitely small, medium and large, and you could see the yellow fat in the Trader Joe's chicken. We carved them onto three platters and served everyone "blind", without knowledge of which chicken was which. After some wine, a lot of discussion, and seconds and thirds, the decision was unanimous: the Rainbow Ranch Farms chicken was by far the best. The Trader Joe's Natural chicken was flavorless, although tender and juicy. And the Mary's chicken was a good middle ground.

All this is as you know and expect it to be I'm sure, but what a great affirmation of our belief that local, organic, whole, natural foods are best for health and flavor. Thank you for the part you play in that.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Feb 22, 2011)

Hi Renee, Thank you for your generous feedback, you are very kind. I love doing comparison tests, it is so much fun, it is a reason to have a party (as long as I don't cook) LOL, Dennis does all the cooking, and sometimes our freind and neighbor, June does a lot of the cooking also. That really is a great review of your experience, thank you for sharing.



Fabulous REAL chicken!
By: Jane Holmes    (Jul 9, 2009)

We just got our first shipment of Rainbow Ranch chicken, and we are in love! I recently got into the Real Foods movement after reading Nina Planck's book "Real Foods" and then "Nourishing Traditions" by Sally Fallon. They both talk about the many health benefits (not to mention taste benefits) or grassfed, pastured, bug-eating, heritage chicken. We felt fortunate to find Rainbow Ranch not all that far from us (we like to also eat local whenever possible).

We started out roasting our first bird and it was so tasty I have had a hard time trying another recipe! But I did make stock twice and from the chicken meat made chicken salad and also a chicken/mushroom/leek casserole.

The taste of these birds is wonderful -- much richer and a little darker than store-bought, juicy and full of flavor. We are definitely converts to pastured heritage chicken.

To roast, I've been using the recipe from Nourishing Traditions. I put the chicken in a roasting pan with slices of onion and an entire halved garlic head, cut-side down. The chicken is brushed with melted butter (raw butter, in our case) and sea salt and pepper. I put some fresh herbs (usually rosemary) inside the bird. Bake bottom-side up at 375 for 1 hour, then turn over. Brush the top side with butter and sprinkle sea salt & pepper. Usually the bottom side only takes another half hour or so. The butter makes the skin very yummy.

After setting the bird and garlic aside, put the roasting pan on the stove and put in 1/2 c dry white wine. Stir around to loosen the onion. After it boils, add in 2 cups of chicken stock and boil/sitr until it reduces by half. Pour sauce through strainer and serve. This simple sauce is really delicious on the roast chicken.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Poultry
By: Stephen P. Cutts    (Apr 26, 2009)

Wonderful chicken and turkey! Great customer service!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Reminds me of home
By: Caroline Pape    (Mar 31, 2009)

(I usually don't write reviews.) I grew up in Europe and my family had a little farm (also with happy chickens running around). When I moved to CA, I was astounded by the Huge supermarket Chickens who tasted like Nothing.

Finally, I found a great source. Yes, the chickens are smaller BECAUSE they did not have a hormone cocktail for breakfast.

I truly enjoy every bite of my chickens. Everybody who has never tried a grass fed chicken: I encourage you to try it. Once you got the taste of a real chicken, you will no longer enjoy the watered down supermarket chickens.

Thank you for being a great provider!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



tips for freezing and a recipe
By: Jessica Davis-Stein    (Mar 26, 2009)

These are wonderfully fresh chickens weighing about 21/2 to 3 lbs. If you order more than you can immediately use the best way to preserve for later cooking is to rinse each well, inside and out in cold water, pat dry and season with salt - about 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon for each bird, inside the cavity as well as out. You can also rub with slices of lemon before salting if you like. Then freeze them separately in home freezer, not in a deep free. Thaw overnight in refrigerator before cooking. Don't rinse again and additional salt is usually not needed for cooking.

To roast: Rub bird with olive oil and season with pepper and crushed garlic to taste. Fill cavity of bird with fresh herbs if available, I use a generous handful of rosemary stalks that I pull out and discard after cooking. Lightly oil roasting pan and scatter sliced potatoes, carrots, turnips, or any root vegetable along with several unpeeled garlic cloves. Place chicken on rack and set rack in place over vegetables. Lightly cover with paper or foil and allow to rest on counter for on hour before cooking (this brings bird to room temperature for more even cooking). Roast uncovered in preheated oven (350 degrees or 300 if convection roasting) for approximately 1 hour twenty minutes, until leg joint moves freely and juices run clear if skin of thigh is pierced with a fork.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Gloria Putnam says:    (Apr 29, 2009)

Great tips, thanks! What you describe is very close to how I treat my chickens from Rainbow Ranch. Why do you prefer the home freezer to the deep freeze for storing the chickens? Today I store them in the deep freeze, but I do bring them to room temp before roasting, as you suggest. The only other thing I do differently is that I put 1 cup of water in the pan. I don't know if this makes a big difference, but its the recommendation from Cooks Illustrated, and those test kitchen cooks are pretty smart, so I take their word for it. When Meyer Lemons are in season I sometimes stuff the cavity with lemon slices instead of (or in addition to) herbs, and that's delicious too.



The Best Thanksgiving Turkey Ever!
By: Tara O. Lutz    (Mar 16, 2009)

We served your Turkey to over fifteen people for Thanksgiving, and throughout the dinner everyone commented on how it was the most delicious turkey they ever had. Thanks for making our holiday so special! Tara

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review