Reviews for: Rainbow Ranch Farms

Average Review:

70 reviews



Great customer service and a terrific product
By: Susan Garlinghouse    (Jul 22, 2008)

We were looking for (real) free-range chicken from a sustainable, humane local source and wow, did we find it! The communication of when we could expect our order to be harvested, shipped and arrive (which it did right on time, practically to the minute) was much appreciated, since we ordered during very hot weather and perishable deliveries require a trip home during lunch hour to get everything inside and into the freezer. The birds were well packed in vacuum bags and beautifully processed. I made coq au vin and it was incredible---tender, moist and actually tasted like chicken, not the mushy, tasteless meat that passes for poultry in the grocery store. I will definitely be ordering more chicken from Xenia in the near future, as well as our Thanksgiving and Christmas turkeys. A great find and well worth the fair price.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 29, 2008)

You are very kind; Thank you for your great feedback and review. We are happy when you are happy, thank you for your particiaption in our poultry programs, we are still learning and growing and appreciate your feedback. From Xenia



Very Helpful
By: Neil    (Jun 27, 2008)

I just started a CSA with Rainbow Ranch Farms and Xenia has been very helpful and wonderful. The prices seemed high at first, but considering that her poultry is truly pastured (no grains) and free range, humanely and sustainably raised, tastes great, and Xenia is available to talk to, the prices become much more reasonable. I am happy to pay for her poultry instead of the poultry with mysterious histories at the store. She talked with me about the proper way to cook pastured chicken, which also helped me to look for the right kind of recipes on my own. Whole or half chickens braised in a saute pan for 40 minutes turned out perfect (moist, just-right firm texture, and yummy)! The chickens are small by store standards, but the right size for me and my family--and easier to cook in my pans. The chickens arrive very cold, vacuum-packed, and ready to cook, freeze whole, or for me to cut in pieces. I have a small freezer in which to store the chickens for later use in the year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 29, 2008)

FANTASTIC! Great tips on how to cook these free-range, grass fed birds, I am still learning. Thank you for your participation and your wonderful feedback. We are happy to have you on board! From Xenia



Yummy, healthy, friendly, helpful, affordable
By: LilyT    (May 30, 2008)

I highly recommend the delicious birds from Rainbow Ranch.

My family was searching for a healthful way to eat meat that would be supportive of our health and avoid harming the environment. We wanted to avoid added manmade chemicals, added hormones, and soy products at all points in the food chain. Not only that, but we wanted the food to taste GOOD. Xenia at Rainbow Ranch is a lovely person and caring rancher who with great thoughtfulness and hard work produces this terrific product. I think her style of food is productive and healthful for both people and the environment; I am impressed that she thinks proactively about all inputs to her farm system; I admire the sincere and enormous amount of work that goes into all this. I happily eat the chickens.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 29, 2008)

Thank you so very much for your lovely review and feedback! You are a valued customer and we are happy to have you on board. Thank you for your continued participation and for helping us grow and to help in reserving old fashioned American farming traditions. Luv-Hugs Xenia



Spoiled birds!
By: Mary Erstad    (May 2, 2008)

with TLC! what a clean and humane operation! I witnessed first hand the wonderful care and feeding of these rare and endangered birds. They get lottsa room to roam, shade, water and freshly grown greens. What a life. The eggs are delicious too. I had the pleasure of enjoying the freshness of a rich raw turkey egg and a double yoked Blue Araucana! For all you rawists it was a delight. The yokes are amazing.

Gobble gobble

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 29, 2008)

Mary, I speak for all the livestock, when I say thank you for your continued hard work and for all you do for the birds. They love their new mister system. With all the work you have at your farm, you still make time to volunteer here, you are an amazing woman. From Daisy - Duke - Speckles and all the rest! Xenia And Dennis



now that's some tasty bird food
By: maruta    (Apr 26, 2008)

yum yum and yum! tahnk you for the good eats... expect o be hearing from again me real soon, Rainbow Ranchers!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 29, 2008)

Thank you for your great review, we are thankfull to have you participate. From Xenia



Free range poultry, they know what they are doing.
By: Jilly    (Apr 19, 2008)

I am a long time csa member of rainbow farms, they really know how to grow an old fashioned chicken. I have actually done comparison tests, and you know, there is a strong and very distinctive difference between a cornish cross, commercial chicken and a Rainbow heritage chicken. The flavor is deep and rich, the texture of their chickens are much more firm. I have allergies to corn fed, soy fed chickens, and since I have been cooking up Rainbows grass fed chickens for my family, I have noticed a remarkable improvement to my poultry tolerance. Thank you Rainbow Farm for providing such a wonderful product! Jilly

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Rainbow Ranch Farms says:    (Aug 29, 2008)

Great to have you on board, thank you for your continued participation. From Xenia