Reviews for: Even' Star Organic Farm

Average Review:

10 reviews



First time with this CSA- great experience
By: Angie Hermes    (May 8, 2013)

This winter was my first season as part of Even' Star's CSA, and it was great! Wonderful veggies, a nice mix of other products like jams, salsa, salt/spice mixes, and more. The sweet potato varieties they have, oh my gosh, life-changing, some of the best sweet potatoes I have ever had. Their weekly emails, range of pick up locations, and responsive customer service make this farm such a joy to support.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best CSA ever!
By: Kristen Berthelotte    (Aug 31, 2012)

This is our first season receiving produce from Even'Star and we are loving it! Brett and his team and extremely professional and communicative, always emailing the day before to let everyone know what is coming in the veggie box the next day and even giving tips on storage, cooking and eating.

All of the vegetables have been so high quality and delicious and we always receive a wide variety. We have been a part of CSAs before and really noticed a difference in the quality of the service and communication. Additionally, all of the high season produce has been in really useful and reasonable quantities- we haven't had a week when we received 3 dozen of one veggie and nothing else- there is always an excellent variety so that we don't have to buy any additional fruits and veggies at the grocery store or market. Love it!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



long time CSA member
By: greg kolarik    (Jul 12, 2012)

simply put, Even' Star always strives to make the customer happy. From the helpful workers on the farm and at the stands to the top of the chain , Brett G, the entire outfit understands what their customers are after. Even'Star provides top notch produce 12 months out of the year. I have been completely satisfied as a CSA member and going back prior to the CSA's creation (1998). I have recommended the Even'Star farm to everyone I come into contact with.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First time CSA
By: Dean Gissiner    (Oct 1, 2011)

The quality and variety of the produce made this a rich experience. We were introduced to some amazing heirloom tomatoes, Armenian cukes and dedicated farmers. Despite the challenges of a rare hurricane, the boxes remained diverse and the quality high. We ate very well this summer and are looking forward to our first experience with the winter share.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best CSA in DC area
By: D. S.    (Jun 7, 2011)

I have been participating in Even Star's CSA since 2007. They are amazing. The vegetables are wonderful, and the farmers ask the CSA members each year what they liked and did not like so they can adjust their plantings. Each week before the delivery, they send an e-mail detailing exactly what will be delivered, how long each item will last on the shelf or in the refrigerator, and some suggestions for preparation and recipes. They are by far the most thorough and conscientious CSA around.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The freshest, best vegetables I have ever had
By: Justin Dillon    (May 15, 2011)

I have been buying food from Even' Star at the Lafayette farmer's market since 2009. Everything they grow is fantastic, and much of what I've bought from them has redefined how I think about that food. For example: tomatoes. They are, quite simply, the best I have ever had. Juicy, succulent, and amazing. My only complaint is that they have ruined me for other tomatoes, even in nice restaurants. Their sweet potatoes--several varieties--are also the best I have ever had. Their arugula will redefine the way you think about and eat arugula; it has a pungent spiciness and, I kid you not, an actual finish, like a wine. It, too, has ruined me for lesser arugula. I always hated radishes; theirs, I love. I could go on, and on, and on. Everything they grow is simply that good. And Brett, who is there every Saturday, is so much fun to talk food with. Whether it's hearing a good recipe from him in person or following one in one of his terrific cookbooks, he never lets me down. A final word about their CSA: I cannot recommend it highly enough. A single share in the winter CSA will give you a ton of delicious greens that could easily feed a family of four for a week. They are so generous, and what they give you is so good. Their summer CSA is also excellent; I chose the farmer's market option so I can actually pick out what I want every week. The second-best part of being in the CSA--after the food itself--is getting the emails that Brett sends out every week listing the offerings. With Proustian detail, he outlines everything that's in your box (in the winter) or everything that will available that week (in the summer). I simply cannot recommend Even' Star highly enough. If you are on the fence about whether to join a CSA, pull the trigger and join theirs. You will love it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First time CSA members
By: Keegan Sawyer    (Feb 12, 2011)

We are first time summer and winter CSA members. It was an odd year because of the very hot summer (2010) and the very cold winter (2011). This impacted both diversity of veges and quality (i.e. tough lettuce) of some items. Despite this I have to say that the veges and few fruits your recieve are excellent. I also enjoy the random sauces, herbs, spices, and flowers that EvenStar adds to the mix. They are EXCELLENT at communicating what you'll receive week-by-week, and very accomodating should anything go amiss (i.e. if you didn't receive a box or if weather prevents delivery). I'm very please with this CSA and highly recommend it to others.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



excellent summer and winter csa
By: Heather Rieff    (Feb 12, 2010)

I am an summer and winter csa subscriber and the vegetables from Even Star are exceptional. vegetables I previously dismissed (like okra) have ended up being some of my favorites because they are so fresh and delicious. The weekly boxes of vegetables are abundant. This is a farm that knows how to run a CSA and does it very well.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review