Reviews for: Cheverly Community Market

Average Review:

17 reviews



More community than market
By: Julian Taylor    (Jul 2, 2014)

I wanted to like this market since it's only minutes from my house. I didn't. I understand why it's called a community market and not a farmer's market now. Half the vendors were community groups trying to get you to sign up or pay your membership dues. It was a huge turn off. Next time I will stick to Greenbelt where the focus is on the food and not information peddlers and annoying groups seeking money or other donations.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Only 2 Farmers! More of a coffee shop
By: tanisha brown    (May 25, 2012)

So I went to this market with high expectations from all the promo on there webpages. There is only one person really selling vegetables and her prices are ridiculous plus she says she says her farm also supplies Giant.

Mostly Cake ,cookies, jam, sausage and ice cream and coffee and some crazy expensive cheese -- Don't come here expecting any real farmers. There are only Two and you will pay more for the same vegatables that you will can buy at Giant!

There were some fellows selling strawberries but that was it for the fruit! One vendor selling one thing!

Totally yuppie not at all what I would expect for Pg! Look at their Facebook pages No Diversity

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Jun 2, 2012)

Please keep in mind it's early in the year, and most fruits and vegetables are not in season yet, at least ones grown locally. There were 5 farms represented on opening day and more show up as the season progresses. That's when diversity really kicks in. In the meantime, there is local ice cream, wine, baked goods, strawberries and asparagus and all the other things that the growers/producers make right in our own back yard..and that counts as right here in PG as well as the rest of Maryland, Virginia and Pennsylvania. Sorry you weren't impressed but I can't agree. You can make a full meal out of what is offered from fish/meat to dessert and wine. Come again and see for yourself.

Antoinette Terry says:    (Mar 30, 2013)

You posted this comment 10 days after the official last frost, which is 15 May. Give the farmers a chance to grow some produce before you complain about what's not available.

Julian Taylor says:    (Jul 2, 2014)

Totally agree on the baked goods part. I thought the point was eating healthy, not eating cakes, cookies and ice cream. I felt like most of their food vendors were selling baked goods. How many cupcakes does one small market need?



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Molly S.    (Aug 22, 2009)

Distinguished by the sheer niceness of everybody involved, and the amazing variety of goods/services in a small venue.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Ellen K.    (Aug 14, 2009)

It's in a very accessable location as well a great gathering place for fresh wholesome food!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Glen B.    (Aug 9, 2009)

It is a great community building event and the products are always of the best quality

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Alma S.    (Aug 7, 2009)

The market provides me with an opportunity to try goods from vendors I would not otherwise have the chance to enjoy.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Angela B.    (Aug 5, 2009)

I love the market because the vegetables last a lot longer than the ones I buy in the grocery store. We also have live music, hot coffee, fresh bread, ice cream and the chance to buy plants, support local artists, and learn about community organizations.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Jo D.    (Aug 5, 2009)

I look forward to the Cheverly Farmers Market to see friends and get delicious and fresh breads and vegetables. I always leave with everything I need for wonderful Saturday night dinners and supplies for the week.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review