Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

87 reviews



Better Beef for Better Living
By: Bill    (Oct 10, 2008)

I do not know where to start. My family discovered Hedgeapple Farm while searching the internet for a local source of natural grass fed beef. We did not expect to find anything more than maybe someone selling sides of beef. we were absolutely thrilled to find Hedgeapple Farm, just one hour away from us offering beef by the cut.

We traveled to the farm last week and we were totally sold. We bought 8 different cuts of beef from ground beef, which tastes like steak, through beautiful rib eye steaks and 2 sirloin tip roasts which were on sale at an incredible price. We have eaten beef 4 out of the last 7 nights and we can not believe the difference. The taste is what I remember beef tasting like many years ago. It was tender, juicy and delicious!

The person who helped us, I think his name was Scot, was more knowledgeable about beef than anyone I have run across in 25 years. He helped us with cut selection and spent nearly 20 minutes talking to us about the farm, the beef and how to cook it. That type of customer service just does not happen anymore. This guy was passionate about their beef and you could tell he had a genuine interest in helping us enjoy the beef we purchased to the fullest.

What an amazing visit we had to Hedgeapple farm. We will tell all our friends, many who have sworn off beef for the same reasons as us, about the farm and we will be back very soon with a cooler in hand. My family thanks the folks at Hedgeapple for providing such outstanding products at reasonable prices. Keep up the great work. We need more farmers like you.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Terrific quality and value
By: Janette Collins    (Oct 8, 2008)

After enjoying many Hedgeapple items (chipsteak, ranch steak, tenderloin steaks, burger, BBQ beef, chili, London Broil, kabob meat, bratwurst, ribs), we made the leap to invest in a boneless rib roast for a special meal. With Scott Barao's (executive director) guidance, I was able to successfully roast this cut and it was fabulous! Everything we've had has been wonderful and we will continue to support this terrific local farm and encourage others to do the same.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Safe, delicious meat
By: Christy Tosatto    (Sep 8, 2008)

After the tragic death of my husband's father years ago of a heart attack at age 56, my husband and I minimized our meat intake.

Discovery of Hedgeapple Farm and the health benefits of grass fed beef has brought back the burger at our house to thunderous applause. It's shocking to me how different this beef tastes and smells. The flavor is simply amazing.

We now eat beef more than once a week. The chopped sandwich steaks and bratwurst are much leaner and more tasty than conventional products. The beef cubes are versatile and perfect for chili, stews, and curries.

Hedgeapple's meat is reasonably priced, conveniently packaged, and stacks beautifully in the freezer. The one pound packs thaw quickly in the microwave.

To top it all off, Scott Barao's friendly, knowledgable service makes every visit a pleasure.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great!
By: Carla    (Sep 4, 2008)

We love Hedgeapple Farm meats. We have been buying organic meat for about 2 years from the grocery store. We only recently discovered Hedgeapple Farm, after reading a book about the importance of supporting local farms. (Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.) The ground meat just smells so fresh when you open up the package and the beef brisket is terrific.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fresh from Farm to Table
By: Michele    (Aug 18, 2008)

Grandparents on both sides of my family were farmers, so I grew up with the freshest of meats and produce. As an adult, shopping in grocery stores, I could never seem to find the same quality of foods as I had been used to. What a treat to have discovered Hedgeapple's! Living in close proximity, I must have passed the store hundreds of times before venturing in one day. I'm so very glad I did. I now recommend the place to family and friends who have also been pleased with their purchases.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Beef and Good for the Monocacy River Too!
By: Sean McCabe    (Aug 9, 2008)

I was a next door neighbor of this farm for 5 years and I can tell you they are everything they say they are. I always witnessed humane care towards the cattle on the farm. Their farming practices also directly benefit the Monocacy River, a Maryland Scenic and Wild River. They have also placed an easement on their land to keep it as it is today for future generations to enjoy.

Since they began selling direct from the farm I have been a customer and now my family only buys their beef. Their beef is of high quality and they are very friendly and easy to work with. Nothing better than buying local AND buying high quality for a good price.

We enjoy all their cuts, the steaks are great, but lately our Baltimore Pit Beef (aka - roast beef) recipe using their roast cut has been fantastic.

You will not be disappointed - Enjoy!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



It really does matter
By: Susan Lyons    (Aug 9, 2008)

Coming from a farm family background, my sisters and I have always felt a strong connection to the land and have an appreciation for how we nourish our bodies. After reading books like Mad Sheep, Plenty, Animal Vegetable Miracle, and of course Fast Food Nation, we can only eat beef from a place like Hedgeapple Farms. My husband is the real meat eater, I only eat ground beef once in a while, and we made the decision about a year ago that Hedgeapple Farm would be our only source of beef. We see the cattle living a natural life - grazing and walking around - on our way to and from work - it really does matter. A lot of people think it is gross or disgusting to actually have a connection to the meat they consume, but I grew up on a farm so I understand the respect and caring that is involved in producing meat for consumption when all efforts are made to provide a natural life cycle. It's time to do things differently and thoughful purchases of food products is going to make a huge difference in our world. Oh, let me say that the quality is fantastic.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Sep 10, 2008)

We drive past the farm, watching the activity of the cattle and feel good supporting the local efforts of farmers who care about their "investment". Knowing that the meat is fresh and locally grown draws us away from reliance on the major chain food stores. The quality of the meat is excellent and while priced higher than store bought meat, the added amount is worth it knowing that this is locally grown and free from the inhumane production techniques of feedlot beef. Thanks Hedgeapple for a great source of local food.



Great food I feel safe eating
By: Beth    (Aug 8, 2008)

With all the stories about this recall and that contamination, I've been getting more and more worried about the safety of our food supply. So I've been trying to eat local foods from people who eat what they grow and sell only locally. It's not possible to completely do that, but I feel much safer trying. So I was really glad to find a safe source for beef. And the best part is how good it is. I've had the ground beef, the flank steak (red-wine marinated), the kabob meat, and the sirloin steak. All tasty and reasonably priced for the quality. You really do get what you pay for!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review