Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

90 reviews



beautiful beef
By: Ann DeClue    (Dec 6, 2008)

About an hour and a half drive from us we found the beautiful Hegeapple Farm and Dr Scott Bareo whose e-mails about his Angus Beef specials we eagerly anticipate. This is now the only beef we buy. We started with the 50 lb box of different cuts of meet and enjoyed every single piece of it. The last time we were there we bought a standing rib roast that will be part of our Christmas Feast, but we also have lots of the beautifully aged and vacuum packed small cuts of steak in our freezer that help us to adhere to the recommended portions of meat in a balanced diet. Please check out the web site for all of the info about this most special farm and the beef raised there. A DeClue, MD

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Beef In Town
By: BRIAN    (Nov 4, 2008)

I have only visited the farm a few times, but it could be the best beef I have ever tasted. I love sauces and marinades on my steak. After taking the recommendation to simply season with salt and pepper and put the bottle down, I could not have been happier. My wife and I have enjoyed a few of their steak cuts on the grill and there ground beef makes a great burger. I would recommend their beef to anybody and everybody. If you have not visited and tried, I would strongly recommend you make time tomorrow.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Hedgeapple Rocks!
By: Chris and Carla P    (Oct 15, 2008)

As two vegans for the last 5 years, we can tell you that coming back to beef would not have happened without Hedgeapple Farm. We read about the farm in the Urbanite Magazine and we were sold after our first visit when we witnessed first hand the commitment they have to the environment and the outstanding care they provide to their cows. The farm is so clean and beautiful and the cows look content.

The beef is sold in a beautiful old log cabin that was spotless and smelled like apple cider. We just wanted to sit down and relax all afternoon. The man working in the store was so nice and helpful. He even looked up some information for us on a cooking method we asked about for one of the cuts we bought. We moved to Baltimore from California and we were so thrilled to find tri-tip steaks again. We bought 4 of them and have already eaten 2. They were awesome.

If you have stopped eating meat because of the way it is raised, as we had, we can tell you first hand that Hedgeapple Farm will change your thinking. This is how our food should be raised and this is how customers should be treated. We will be back!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Better Beef for Better Living
By: Bill    (Oct 10, 2008)

I do not know where to start. My family discovered Hedgeapple Farm while searching the internet for a local source of natural grass fed beef. We did not expect to find anything more than maybe someone selling sides of beef. we were absolutely thrilled to find Hedgeapple Farm, just one hour away from us offering beef by the cut.

We traveled to the farm last week and we were totally sold. We bought 8 different cuts of beef from ground beef, which tastes like steak, through beautiful rib eye steaks and 2 sirloin tip roasts which were on sale at an incredible price. We have eaten beef 4 out of the last 7 nights and we can not believe the difference. The taste is what I remember beef tasting like many years ago. It was tender, juicy and delicious!

The person who helped us, I think his name was Scot, was more knowledgeable about beef than anyone I have run across in 25 years. He helped us with cut selection and spent nearly 20 minutes talking to us about the farm, the beef and how to cook it. That type of customer service just does not happen anymore. This guy was passionate about their beef and you could tell he had a genuine interest in helping us enjoy the beef we purchased to the fullest.

What an amazing visit we had to Hedgeapple farm. We will tell all our friends, many who have sworn off beef for the same reasons as us, about the farm and we will be back very soon with a cooler in hand. My family thanks the folks at Hedgeapple for providing such outstanding products at reasonable prices. Keep up the great work. We need more farmers like you.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Terrific quality and value
By: Janette Collins    (Oct 8, 2008)

After enjoying many Hedgeapple items (chipsteak, ranch steak, tenderloin steaks, burger, BBQ beef, chili, London Broil, kabob meat, bratwurst, ribs), we made the leap to invest in a boneless rib roast for a special meal. With Scott Barao's (executive director) guidance, I was able to successfully roast this cut and it was fabulous! Everything we've had has been wonderful and we will continue to support this terrific local farm and encourage others to do the same.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Safe, delicious meat
By: Christy Tosatto    (Sep 8, 2008)

After the tragic death of my husband's father years ago of a heart attack at age 56, my husband and I minimized our meat intake.

Discovery of Hedgeapple Farm and the health benefits of grass fed beef has brought back the burger at our house to thunderous applause. It's shocking to me how different this beef tastes and smells. The flavor is simply amazing.

We now eat beef more than once a week. The chopped sandwich steaks and bratwurst are much leaner and more tasty than conventional products. The beef cubes are versatile and perfect for chili, stews, and curries.

Hedgeapple's meat is reasonably priced, conveniently packaged, and stacks beautifully in the freezer. The one pound packs thaw quickly in the microwave.

To top it all off, Scott Barao's friendly, knowledgable service makes every visit a pleasure.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great!
By: Carla    (Sep 4, 2008)

We love Hedgeapple Farm meats. We have been buying organic meat for about 2 years from the grocery store. We only recently discovered Hedgeapple Farm, after reading a book about the importance of supporting local farms. (Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.) The ground meat just smells so fresh when you open up the package and the beef brisket is terrific.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fresh from Farm to Table
By: Michele    (Aug 18, 2008)

Grandparents on both sides of my family were farmers, so I grew up with the freshest of meats and produce. As an adult, shopping in grocery stores, I could never seem to find the same quality of foods as I had been used to. What a treat to have discovered Hedgeapple's! Living in close proximity, I must have passed the store hundreds of times before venturing in one day. I'm so very glad I did. I now recommend the place to family and friends who have also been pleased with their purchases.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review