Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

87 reviews



What a terrific local resource!
By: Anne Wolfe    (Aug 8, 2008)

I've been working on buying all of my food locally, and supporting local farmers - Hedgeapple Farm is the only place where I purchase beef. Hiqh quality beef, staff, location - you name it - it's GREAT!

Their meats are individually shrink wrapped and are sold frozen, so bring along your cooler during these hot summer months. As well as carrying every meat cut known to man, they have delicious frozen 'prepared' items that are sold by the quart. We love the beef barbeque (they also have 'Sloppy Joe's). These are a wonderful way to create a quick and easy meal when I'm short of time. They occasionally have cage-free eggs available too, just ask!

Even something as mundane as ground beef tastes terrific - I've had folks eat things that I've prepared using Hedgeapple meats (like chili, which already has strong flavors), and ask - 'What did you do to this?! It's REALLY good!' The only difference in the recipe was the Hedgeapple meat!

Come and visit and give it a try - you won't be sorry (they're competitively priced, and their value is much higher) - and support our local farms!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great farm, great food, lovely place to visit
By: Heather    (Aug 8, 2008)

We like driving to the farm and getting the beef directly from where the cows are born and raised. We feel better about the beef knowing the animals are treated humanely and also knowing where they came from. The treatment of their animals is a high priority to the farm, or we would not be buying beef from them. This matters a lot to us, as you can probably tell! The beef tastes great and is a great value, too.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Such a Diamond in Buckeystown.
By: nick    (Aug 8, 2008)

I found Hedgeapple on eatwild.com and let me tell you it is well worth the special trip from germantown to get the best beef you can find. It reminds me of the beef that we got on my family dairy farm when a cow broken a leg. My wife and I have not bought beef from anyone else.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great grass finished beef!
By:    (Aug 7, 2008)

What a wonderful surprise when I was driving through Buckeystown last January and saw a sign for grass finished beef at Hedgeapple farm! Of course I had to stop and check it out since that is the only kind of beef we eat.......no more hormones, antibiotics or grains in the beef we eat! What a pleasent shopping experience it was. John was extremely helpful and patient with all the questions I had. The best part was when I cooked the beef....it was very good!! In fact my daughter, who was with me and lives in Raleigh, asks me to bring beef to them when we visit her and her family. They all loved it as well......so you see the beef is so good it travels to Raleigh! Check it out, I know you will love it as much as we do. Also check out the restaurants in Frederick where Hedgeapple beef is served....how wonderful to be able to eat grass finished beef in a restaurant!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent Farm
By: Andie    (Aug 7, 2008)

I only buy my beef from here. It is incredibly good, resonably priced with great service. And makes me feel good to not only support local farmers but a place that is helping to protect the environment. This is a great farm and well run.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Outstanding Steak
By: Chris T    (Aug 7, 2008)

I had the pleasure of eating a Hedgeapple Farm ribeye steak at a local Frederick restaurant called Acacia about a week ago. The taste of the beef was like I remember growing up in the midwest. The flavor was wonderful, the steak was tender and juicy and it was prepared perfectly. I have since contacted the folks at the farm after learning about their farm market and I plan on taking a large cooler and visiting their farm this weekend. Beef that actually tastes like beef and is not pumped full of hormones and drugs. What a great find.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best steak ever!
By: teresa    (Aug 7, 2008)

I recently discovered Hedgeapple Farm in Buckeystown, Md after reading an article in the Washington Post. I purchased several items including steaks, ground beef and hot dogs. My family grilled and ate the steaks last night and we can say without a doubt that these were the best steaks we've eaten in 10 years! The flavor and tenderness were outstanding. The prices were very reasonable for a all-natural, grass-fed and locally produced product. The customer service at the market and the knowledge of the staff was outstanding. I had a long list of questions about the selection and preparation of different cuts of beef and the folks at Hedgeapple were very patient and answered every single question I had. They also gave me several great recipe ideas and I even picked up some delicious BBQ sauce and a great t-shirt during my visit. My family and I had just about stopped eating beef after several very disappointing experiences with grocery store meat. We're looking forward to stocking our freezer with Hedgeapple beef on our next visit.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review