Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

90 reviews



We love Hedgeapple Farms meats!
By: Jan and Phil Knopp    (Mar 1, 2009)

When Hedgeapple Farm opened its historic cabin store I was thrilled! Since we have limited freezer space I was pleased to be able to buy smaller quantities of beef.

My husband is a big fan of their beef jerky. In fact we gave away bags of Hedgeapple Farms beef jerky as Christmas goodies. Everyone loved the taste and texture of the product.

In fact I get requests for Hedgeapple Farms meat when I entertain friends for dinner.

I am glad that the products are frozen so that I can transport them easily to my family who live in Virginia.

I have always been quite happy with the quality of the meat and the customer service in the store.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Hedgeapple Farm ---- Does a Body Gooooood
By: Pat Hancock    (Feb 28, 2009)

I was vegetarian for decades and then my acupuncturist strongly recommended eating red meat. The only way I could bring myself to do it is if I could find locally raised, grass-fed beef. Wow, we all are feeling so much better.

Grass fed is delicious!!! Scott is a joy to visit. We are very grateful you're doing what you are doing.

Pat

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



the only beef I will eat
By: Mary Maher    (Feb 28, 2009)

I have adored chicken since I was a little girl and have it about 6 times a week, untillllllllllllllll I had a steak from Hedgeapple. Now, I will make a trip from Bethesda, periodically, to get steaks and their pulled beef. The taste is 'out of this world', and has turned me on to beef. I love sharing it with my grandchildren because I know that it is organic and safe for them to eat. That is , probably, the highest compliment I can give to Hedgeapple Farms--the little children love the taste and it doesn't have all the additives that are harmful to them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Beef in town
By: Jill Thompson    (Feb 27, 2009)

We love Hedgeapple Farm products. My kids love going in the "store" it's so warm and inviting. I love the customer service and, of course, the beef. The prices are reasonable and the quality is outstanding. My daughter's favorite is the ground beef and my husband loves the ribeye steaks. You just can't go wrong here. We love knowing where our food is coming from.

thanks!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Good for the environment, my health, and my budget
By: Jenn    (Feb 27, 2009)

I first went to Hedgeapple Farm after a large ground beef recall used up my last nerve with grocery store beef. I found the selection of cuts excellent, and the prices competitive, even compared to the local mega-mart. We got 21 lbs. of ground beef for $55 as well as steaks, short ribs, and marrow bones for the various dishes I make as an amateur chef at home. Because the meat is sold frozen, we can visit the farm from the DC area once every few months and pack our freezer to last for the duration. And the beef defrosts in the fridge to a good texture. The flavor is beefier, and having an affordable source of good-quality protein and iron helped me through training for a marathon, as well as various shorter distance races.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Grass Fed Beef is Good for Pooches Too!
By: Jean Judd    (Feb 27, 2009)

We are converts to locally raised food products and purchase all of our beef from Hedge Apple Farm. We looked forward to its opening after reading an article in a local paper about the added nutrition afforded by grass fed beef. Hedge Apple's ground beef and beef liver are the anchor for our Poodle Molly's homemade diet.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Steak in Town
By: MARIO L. HERMAN    (Feb 27, 2009)

I am a regular customer of Hedgeapple, and I have had numerous fascinating discussions with Dr. Barao. I spent well over $1,000.00 on beef at Hedgeapple in 2008. The quality of the beef is exceptional, including the hamburger. The prices are competitive, and the beef is better than any "organic" beef on the market. I have learned a great deal from Dr. Barao, and highly recommend Hedgeapple to anyone who is interested in nutrition. The fact that the cattle is grass fed, and loaded with Omega 3's, is especially important to me. Dr. Barao handles the meat from "conception to consumption" to ensure no adulteration.

I will not buy beef anywhere else.

Mario L. Herman 2987 Hope Mills Lane Adamstown, MD 21710 301-607-4111

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A Hedgeapple Farm rib roast made my Christmas.
By:    (Dec 30, 2008)

I thought a great gift this year would be to prepare a beautiful grass-fed standing rib roast for Christmas dinner. I couldn't be happier that I found Hedgeapple Farm. Just an hour away from my mother's home in NW Washington, this farm furnished one of the finest roasts I have ever seen, worked with, or eaten. I am certain (based on the numerous exclamations during dinner) that the other 10 people who shared in the bounty would agree.

Not only was the product exceptional, but the attentive treatment and accomodation that I received from Scott Barao, who seems to direct the entire operation, was also superb. He made the process (which was complicated by travel plans from out of town, and a Christmas Eve pick-up) totally manageable.

Overall: Highly Recommended!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review