Reviews for: Brookdale Road Farm

Average Review:

6 reviews



Beautiful Eggs
By:    (Sep 9, 2017)

Lovely Gennifer welcomed us to her farm with a smile and a generous tour of her buildings and description of her way of life. She introduced us to a new calf, her beautiful chickens and glossy coated cattle. Her eggs are beautiful colors and we look forward to enjoying them. No vegetables this year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent Beef
By:    (Jan 3, 2017)

Sun feeds grass; grass creates Omega 3 fatty acids essential to heart health; Cow eats only grass; Human eats Cow = Heart Health plus great lean meat taste. No brainer. It's changed how we eat and a huge difference from store bought meat. Gennifer and Scott have also been great to work with. We have bought 1 and 1/2 cows now! I go in on it with several people from work. I just grind it all up into either 1 lb. portions or 5 lb. 1/3 burger patties. Bon Appetit!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Scott and Gennifer Johnson says:    (Jan 19, 2017)

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate that you took the time to do this for us! Enjoy!



Amazing Beef
By: B Gale    (Dec 13, 2016)

We are just buying our second portion of a cow from Brookdale. Gennifer and Scott are great to work with, the meat is better than any grassfed beef from stores (including Whole Foods). By working directly with the processor you can get the cuts you like and the approaches you need. Such as how lean to cut your ground beef, and what cuts of meat to use. I am so glad we ran into Gennifer at the Woodstock farmer's market this year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Scott and Gennifer Johnson says:    (Dec 14, 2016)

Thank you Bill for this wonderful, and encouraging review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this too!



FANTASTIC Grass fed beef....
By: Melanie Andrews    (Jun 24, 2015)

This was some of the best quality beef we have ever eaten. We bought in May of 2015. The purchasing process was simple. The butcher was super-helpful. The cuts have been fantastic! It is some of the leanest, yet most delicious beef that we have had the pleasure of consuming. Everyone has commented that this meat cooks differently, but we have not noticed a difference. All of the cuts have been juicy and extremely tender, even the normally tougher cuts. We look forward to purchasing more beef from Genifer in the future:)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Scott and Gennifer Johnson says:    (Oct 15, 2015)

Thank you so much Melanie for this wonderful review! Always encouraging to hear how much someone is enjoying our meat! Let us know when you need more beef and if you want to try some pasture raised pork, we have that going in the beginning of November, Sincerely, Gennifer Johnson



Great Experience Buying, Excellent Beef
By:    (Apr 2, 2015)

We've purchased meat twice now from Brookdale Road Farm and have been thrilled both times with the ease of the purchasing process and the meat itself. The proprietors make the buying process easy, especially if you've never purchased meat in bulk before. The shop that processes the meat is also friendly and explains the details of your cutting order well. Finally, the meat is delicious--if you've never tasted grass-fed beef, you're in for a treat. It may taste a little different than grocery store beef, and because of reduced fat content you may have to alter your cooking a little (for traditionally tougher cuts I opted to braise). However, the flavor is richer, fresher, and fuller--so even your burger tastes better!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Scott and Gennifer Johnson says:    (Oct 15, 2015)

Should have thanked you earlier for this wonderful review, but doing it now! Always appreciate knowing people are enjoying our meat and sharing it on hear is helpful. Thank you! Let us know when you are ready for more and as I mentioned to the other reviewer, if you want some healthy pork, we have hogs going in the beginning of November,



Farm is easy to deal with
By: Bonnie Stevens    (Apr 26, 2014)

This farm is very easy to deal with. We were able to communicate by email and get our beef just 2 months after we ordered it. The prices were very reasonable for grass fed beef. We were not thrilled with the quality of the beef. It seemed very sinewy. Also, the muscle groups were small so our steaks and roasts were very small.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Scott and Gennifer Johnson says:    (Mar 27, 2015)

Our beef is around 90-95% grass-fed which makes for very lean meat, which is very healthy and we feel very tasty. We also have a majority of a smaller breed (Holsteins), which can give you smaller steaks and sometimes other cuts might be smaller then you might see with other breeds and grain-fed beef. But we feel the quality is in the feed and the way they are raised and gives you good, quality meat. I hope others will comment on our beef so that you can hear from others that do enjoy our beef.