Reviews for: Walnut Hill Farm

Average Review:

6 reviews



Amazing hens, turkeys and eggs, as well as a very nice owner
By:    (Oct 24, 2016)

I have no idea why anyone would complain or give this farm anything but 5 stars. The place is beautiful, and Vikki, the owner is incredibly nice and helpful, and goes out of her way to try to give you any information that you might want on her birds. This is someone who cares about her birds and puts a lot of time and energy into their upkeep. Her birds are fantastic and you can see them outside, roaming around, not crowded...but most of all, the eggs are very good and very tasty, and you know where they came from. The eggs on the outside will vary in color since they are laid by different hens, and the yolk is dependent on what the hen ate that day...maybe the hens ate white corn one day and maybe yellow corn the next. I for one, will be back in a week for more eggs. If you're reading this Vikki, thank you!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Five Star all the way around
By:    (Aug 10, 2014)

I tried these eggs for the first time a couple weeks ago. Most were pale in color and the rest were richer in color and the richer in color did taste better however all were great tasting and just knowing I am eating an egg from a chicken that has fed on food with no pesticides, hormones, soy etc. makes me feel better about eating eggs and I will continue to buy my eggs from Walnut Hill Farm. I have paid the same amount for cage free or range free eggs in the stores and they were ok but I didn't like not knowing how old those eggs were but with Walnut Farm, I know they are fresh daily and am very happy I found them! I highly recommend them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Sep 25, 2014)

The orange yolk color comes from the natural pigment Xanthophylls. It does not contribute to the egg's nutritional value. Lighten up. I think Walnut Hill's response was on target. a Fresh Egg stands up in the skillet when you crack the egg. Their eggs are awesome. I've been their customer for years.



really rude owner!
By: Cori Vanker    (Oct 9, 2012)

I was surprised when I got my eggs because the other reviewers said that their eggs were great and had really rich yolks. My eggs had pale yellow yolks with almost no flavor. I've never had a free range egg like that, they've always tasted great and had deep orange color. At first I thought it was a fluke, so I emailed the owner and told him I was disappointed and had paid more expecting higher quality. He was really sarcastic in his response. He said he had a talk with the chickens and told them they needed to make sure they got more corn in their diets so that their eggs would have orange yolks, but they didn't listen. I'm giving this 2 stars instead of 1 because they are free range and satisfy my ethical requirements, but I refuse to give my money to someone who treats me like that. Plus, the eggs didn't even taste that good!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Vikki Papesh says:    (Oct 11, 2012)

I am sorry you were unhappy with our exceptionally fresh eggs. We sell about a hundred dozen a week raised right here on the farm and have been selling eggs for more than fifteen years, so evidently others feel differently. Certainly, some yolks are less colorful than others, and we explained that free range chickens eat what they choose, some prefer wheat to corn and the yolk color will vary by diet. You also have the freedom of choice, so enjoy!

kim blankenship says:    (Jul 14, 2013)

get a sense of humor :)

Holly Dentry says:    (Mar 4, 2015)

The eggs are good, the lady farmer is rude and nasty!!! We want to support small farms but dealing with nasty people, Not Cool!!!!!

says:    (Oct 24, 2016)

Really? I don't see rude anywhere on the lady I met. In fact just the opposite of rude...very nice and very helpful.

says:    (Oct 24, 2016)

Anca LeBlanc says: sorry for another post...the previous "Says:" is me. I just don't want anyone to think that this is not a true post related to a customer of Vikki's.



Fast and Easy, Great fresh Eggs!
By:    (Feb 2, 2011)

I found this farm near my home through Local Harvest and was thrilled with the product and the experience. My aunt had mentioned knowing about it as well, and I finally made the drive with my husband. Having never before gone to a 'local farm' I was very pleased with being able to drive up and self-serve for farm fresh eggs in January.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



great eggs
By: shannon fashho    (Mar 9, 2010)

I've bought these eggs a few times so far, and they are great! You pull up the driveway to a mini refridgerator that is self serve. It's super easy, and I love how close it is to Rochester!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Eggs EVER!
By: Andrea    (Sep 3, 2008)

I love these eggs! The yolks are so rich, and the whites are amazing. I use them in all my baking - quiche, cookies, cakes, tiramisu, and always get rave reviews. Oh yeah, and a fried egg sandwich is always a must with these too. Simply the freshest and best around.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review