Reviews for: Alexandria Farmer's Market

Average Review:

13 reviews



Nice stuff but almost none is local or organic
By:    (May 12, 2018)

This is a nice farmer?s market for things like jams, baked goods, etc. HOWEVER, there are literally only 2 or 3 vendors here who sell produce that is organic or even local. The flowers are straight from a wholesaler and the roses were marked clearly from Ecuador. When I asked the vendor if any of their flowers were local, she answered ?all of them!? but then couldn?t answer me when I asked why the roses were marked from Ecuador. Many of the other vendors are dishonest about where their produce comes from. It really drives me crazy If you actually care about local, in-season produce and flowers, find a producers-only market (like Fairlington, DuPont, etc.).

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Could be better...
By: Donna Zurick    (Mar 18, 2010)

I usually hit up one stand here, only because they are the only ones selling local produce.

I've been to this Market in July, and asked where the tomatoes were from ,and was told CA. Huh? I can buy fruits and vegetables cheaper in the store if I'm not buying local.

I wish the people who run this market would take a look at the Mt. Vernon Market or another fabulous producer only farmers' market, as I think the people of Old Town are being duped into thinking they are buying local when they aren't.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Gary R.    (Aug 27, 2009)

Great selection of organic and local produce, fruits and baked goods. The market has been in continuous operation since 1753

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Oct 26, 2009)

I agree, this farmers' market holds great history--known and unknown--though am unimpressed with the selection of produce, particularly produce grown locally (traditionally considered under 100 miles). As of yet, I've only talked to 2-3 produce vendors who fit within this local circumference. The other farms present, though enthusiastic, are from far south as South Carolina. Many vendors are actually middle men sellers of produce that isn't indigenous to the area. (I've actually seen avocados sold there in the winter!). This market has great potential and I would love to see it focus more on locally grown produce, reach out to the low-income populations of Old Town and greater Alexandria (maybe they could accept Food Stamps-SNAP, WIC and/or Senior Farmers MarketNutrition Program). There are many resources to support this shift within the area and it should be the City's responsibility to progress this market towards this change.



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Susan E.    (Aug 9, 2009)

All living things have energy. It is so wonderful to experience food that still holds the vital energy of being freshly picked. It truly is different than waking into a grocery where much of the produce traveled hundreds to thousands of miles, and was harvested who knows how long ago.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Dianne S.    (Jul 17, 2009)

It's a wonderful way to meet my neighbors and buy LOCAL! I'm working to reduce my carbon footprint by trying to buy all my produce and meats from local farmers, meaning those who farm less than 100 miles from Alexandria, VA.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Karen S.    (Jun 22, 2009)

I have been going to the Alexandria Farmers Market for 10 years. I love all the fresh produce and everyone is so knowledgeable and friendly! I have been to many Farmers markets and this one is the BEST!!!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Catherine M.    (Jun 22, 2009)

That farmer's market is a wonderful tradition and has a great small town flavor to it - not to mention the wonderful flowers, fruits, vegetables. If you visit the Alex. farmer's market you will see the joy that it brings the people that visit it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Ruth L.    (Jun 21, 2009)

This market has beautiful flowers, wonderful artwork, excellent fruits and vegetables and a fun and friendly feeling.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review