Reviews for: Birmingham Farmers Market

Average Review:

12 reviews



Market Picnics in Birmingham
By: Brooke P.    (Jan 13, 2017)

I love the Birmingham Farmers' Market and do almost all of my shopping here when it's in season. I gave it five stars because it is doing so much more than just the typical produce thing. My kids always love to go and do the craft at the kid's booth and I love it cause I can buy fresh meat, hummus, salsa, and so many other groceries at this market and it's local! Most sundays my family and I have a little picnic at the market with some of the prepared foods and food trucks there. It is just such a good time I always cherish with my family.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Not a Farmer's Market
By: Scott H    (Feb 25, 2012)

This is just a place to go on Sunday's read the paper, have a tea, or expensive coffee and see dogs. I would rather go to Pontiac's Market or Plum Market for my vegies.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Always a gem on Sunday morning!
By: Nina Krietemeyer    (Feb 23, 2012)

Seems there are some peope sniping about the market so let me just saw that it's a lovely way to spend a Sunday morning.

Yes, the selection goes wider than just farm produced goods but who's to say that is necessarily bad. I still get my fresh veggies and fruit while enjoying some other selections from local vendors.

We should celebrate what we have in Birmingham! Looking forward to the new season in May 2012.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Nina Krietemeyer says:    (Feb 23, 2012)

Let's hope my reviewing skills surpass my typing skills. Apparently I've created new ways to spell "people" and "say". It rather upset me to see the negativity about the market. I thought community was about supporting each other.



Just realized something...
By: Support Local    (Jul 24, 2011)

It's funny to me that the high ratings for this market are all made by people with the same first name and last initials of the Birmingham PSD who run the market. I only know this because I contacted them about our concerns about the market and was basically ignored.

Pretty sad when you have to get your employees to do your ratings!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



What Happened To This Market - Birmingham, MI
By: Support Local    (Jul 24, 2011)

My family has attended this market, each Sunday, for the past six years, we are saddened by what has happened to the market.

Yes, there are still local farmers and some artisan vendors that sell great products but the market has added so many new vendors that it has changed the entire balance of the market.

We were shocked to see so many vendors that don't seem to fit into a farmers market. A couple franchises, cotton candy and snow cones, caramel corn and several vendors that are selling products that they don't produce themselves. What happened to healthy options?

It is apparent that the market has become a money making tool for the managment that runs the market.

We will not be returning to this market, at least until they are a bit more selective in their vendor list. It's really a shame that in the upscale neighborhood we live in, they have created the dollar store version of a farmers market.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Scott H says:    (Feb 25, 2012)

AGREED!



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: edward N.    (Sep 16, 2009)

Great food, Great farmers, Great people watching. It's a great community gathering spot, too. Farmers Market, where were you years ago? Makes Sunday ... well .... Sunday.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Elaine M.    (Aug 31, 2009)

It is a wonderful community meeting place to support local and family owned businesses.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Alan H.    (Aug 31, 2009)

The Birmingham Farmers Market always has an outstanding selection of fresh local produce, plants, and flowers sold by the people that grow them. They've got unique extras too including live music, activities for the kids, and a package pickup service. This time of year the Michigan sweet corn is my favorite but I always end up staying longer than I expect because I run into my friends enjoying coffee, waffles, and all the great prepared foods they have. Without a doubt my favorite farmers market in Michigan.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review