Reviews for: Healthy Harvest Farm

Average Review:

18 reviews



We LOVE Healthy Harvest!
By: M B    (Feb 21, 2019)

We have been members of Healthy Harvest for several summers now, and we have nothing but good things to say! It is like having your own private farmers' market. Dave and Sara make it so simple to eat locally and well. We love that we can choose only what we know we like, but we have also experimented and found some new favorites. We appreciate the cards that tell you how to store and prepare your produce, and the many delicious recipes so that you are never left wondering what to do with a vegetable. It is a good amount for our family of four each week, though we do have to ration the amazing baby tomatoes! Sara and Dave are a pleasure to talk with and we feel so blessed to know the people growing our food. We look forward to the first distribution every spring, and are always a bit bummed when the last one is over. We are so glad we found Healthy Harvest!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful CSA
By:    (Jan 18, 2018)

We love the amazing quality and diversity from Healthy Harvest Farm and how delightful, knowledgeable, and welcoming Sara and Dave are each week. It really is a treasure to be part of this CSA and our kids look forward to going to pickup each week. We've tried celeriac, yellow watermelon, etc. and never eaten better. We love the commitment to sustainable farming & healthy eating that comes w/ a membership. We thought we would miss the spontaneity of just going to farmer's markets each week, but ended up preferring this way (you still get a lot of choice, but the regularity and community are such bonuses). Very much looking forward to next summer! :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Flexible options are the best!
By:    (Jan 11, 2018)

We highly recommend this farm share. Dave and Sarah have been super helpful when we started and the flexibility of choosing which vegetables or herbs we wanted has been wonderful for our family of picky eaters. Our 6 year old daughter likes to come along to choose vegetables and play a bit. Sugar snap peas, cauliflower, and watermelon were her favorites last Summer.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Crop speculation pans out
By: Jonathan Siegle    (Feb 20, 2017)

It was April of 2012 when we started thinking about joining a CSA. Of course, we had a pile of questions. Sarah and Dave tackled them with ease. They promised we would not starve if there was no rain or if wild life cleaned out the crops. They assured us that the veggies would taste great. We bought in and it has been a great experience the entire time. Even when the weather has not always cooperated, our shares consistently exceeded our expectations.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Highly recommend Healthy Harvest CSA
By: State College resident    (Jan 23, 2015)

I have managed a CSA and been a member of several CSAs, and the Healthy Harvest CSA is one of the best out there. They offer top-quality produce and the highest degree of flexibility in selecting what you want each week that I've encountered in a CSA, including working around summer travel schedules. Dave and Sara are very professional and friendly, and it is enjoyable to see them at pickup each week. They are excellent local farmers who I am proud to support.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best so far...
By:    (Nov 12, 2014)

Being relatively new to Central Pennsylvania, I began to look for a CSA experience shortly after moving here in the fall of 2013. Taking time and initiative, I studied a number of CSA's from websites, word of mouth, tastings and I settled on Healthy Harvest. What an amazing summer! I've lived in various parts of the country and this was my third CSA experience, on top of having my own small plot to farm for a number of years. Being with Sara and Dave was a joy...there was not a vegetable that I did not enjoy or a week that I didn't look forward to going to choose my '8' vegetables/fruits...in fact, I organized my work schedule around the visit to the pick up spot in State College. The vegetables/fruits were always appropriately packaged, the choices exciting and the recipes were creative and 'gourmet'. Can't wait until next June!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Highly recommended!
By: Tulare Park    (Oct 26, 2014)

Excellent CSA experience for two years now, during both summer/fall and winter shares! I would highly recommend Healthy Harvest Farm, because the produce is always excellent, and the farmers are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Additionally, members can choose exactly what they want each week, and have access to tons of recipes each week for the veggies available.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



LOVE Healthy Harvest!!
By: Cathy O'Connell    (Oct 18, 2014)

This year was my first year with Healthy Harvest and I can't say enough about them. They take pride in their produce and the quality was amazing. Not once was I disappointed! They have the perfect mix of less common veggies for us to try and more common veggies that my pickier husband will eat. They also don't just hand you a box each week like many CSAs do, but allow you to choose which selections you want for the week, which I really appreciate. Sara and Dave are so friendly and are both there at every pickup, chatting and offering tips on that week's choices, and there are always recipes available for that week's offerings. They also have a great selection of recipes on their website, and everything I've tried has been wonderful! I just signed up to participate again next year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review