Reviews for: Silver Maples Farm

Average Review:

16 reviews



Great Service, Selection and Quality
By: Andrew Travis    (Aug 7, 2017)

We found Farmer John at Silver Maples Farm here on Local Harvest as we were looking for a CSA to join. It was important for us to eat local fruits and veggies that were fresh and if possible, organically-grown. We were happy to join the Pay By the Week program at Silver Maples Farm because we have access each week to a rotating selection of fruits and veggies (and flowers too!). This program is better for us than a CSA because we only pay for weeks that there are crops; if we have a late frost and it delays crop pick-ups, we only start paying when we start picking up. While these aren't certified-organic, they are grown without the use of pesticides and Farmer John adheres to organic growing methods. His farm is only 40 minutes from our home and cheaper than going to Blacksburg or Floyd.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

John S. Lynch ( Farmer John ) says:    (Aug 11, 2017)

Andrew, Thank you so much for your much appreciated comments. The very fact that you travel 40 miles to pick up your PBW share each and every week, says a lot. We will strive for constant improvement, regarding our PBW customer base. In spite of the fact, this has been a tough year with 25 inches of rain over a 6 week period, our new PBW share program has been a real success. Thank you for your support, Farmer John



Farmer John is the real deal!
By:    (Aug 10, 2016)

So happy to stumble upon this wonderful organic farm! its amazing to see the love and knowledge he plants and enjoy the rewards of healthy organic vegetables and fruits. I look forward to my Saturday morning trip to Silver Maples to gather my harvest of goodies. The fresh flower garden of Dora's is also a bonus ...love having fresh flowers in the home and they last till my next visit.

Farmer John also offers suggestions, recipes and other helpful tip to enrich your foods and health. So thankful they are servicing our area in such a blessed way! Ill be a lifelong CSA customer for sure Trena Nichols

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



My favorite place of the summer!!!
By:    (Jul 29, 2016)

Please do yourself a favor and stop by to see Farmer John at Silver Maples Farm! His produce, berries and flowers are the most delicious, most beautiful and most nutritious of any around. I've been a part of several CSAs and this is by far the most superior with its vast selection of customer favorites and a dose of Farmer John's welcoming smuke, dyy wit and sagely advice. You definitely need to pencil in to visit every single week of the growing season. You won't regret it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome, we've found a treasure!
By: Sandy Worrell    (Jul 12, 2016)

This is our first year to join the co-op with farmer John. We are so excited to find him and his wonderful gardens. John is definitely passionate about organic farming and cultivating quality produce. We get excited to visit weekly and see whats going in our bag for the week. We are eating so much better and trying foods that are soooo good! Silver Maple Farms is definitely a treasure in Carroll County!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Loved it
By:    (Apr 6, 2016)

My husband and I discovered this beautiful farm in 2014. We love the fresh produce and John and Dora are two exceptional people who really know what is going on in the organic world. John took us out in the garden and showed us around and even let's us help pull weeds. He is always ready and willing to explain how he does things and why.They have won us as customers for life. Can't wait for them to open for the season.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Apr 6, 2016)

Sorry forgot my name: Jeff and Emily Eubank, Ararat, Va.



Best Farm Stand in Hillsville, VA!
By: Abby Williams Nicolo    (Nov 19, 2015)

You will not be disappointed when you visit Silver Maple Farms. Upon arrival, you will be greeted by the friendly owner, Farmer John. If you are interested, he will even take you on a free tour of his beautiful farm! The organic fruits and vegetables that Farmer John grows are of the best quality. Silver Maples Farm also has a flower garden where you can cut your own flowers and Mason jars are even provided for making your own arrangement! One of my favorite parts about the farm is the abundant herb garden where you can hand cut a wide variety of fresh herbs. Having lived on the West Coast, I wasn't sure if I would be able to source such great produce here in Southwest Virginia, luckily, I found Silver Maple Farms! Farmer John and his wife Dora, work hard to provide the community of Hillsville with produce of the utmost quality, I am honored to support this local business and I hope you will be too!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



It just couldn't get any better
By: betty and charlie sutton/whittle    (Jul 8, 2015)

Wednesdays are such a joy for our family. That's the day each week I pick up our share from Farmer John. The quality of John's produce is outstanding and our share with his CSA is bountiful. Beautiful flowers to pick are included in our share. The care and creativity of John's farming techniques shine on our dinner table. Be sure and plan a Saturday trip to the farm stand. Take home local honey and jams as well as the freshest produce. Enjoy!!!! Thank you, Farmer John for your hard work and vision of what local can be. See you Wednesday

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



We found a gem!
By: Tracie Bobletz    (Jun 21, 2015)

We were so excited to visit Silver Maples Farm today and meet Farmer John and his beautiful wife, Dora. Farmer John took us on a tour of his beautiful organic farm and shared information about his farming practices. His flowers and produce are just amazing and we could tell that he loves sharing with others. We left with lots of produce and went straight home to make a delicious salad. Everything was soooooo yummy. We are so grateful to have found their farm and will be loyal customers! We highly recommend that you go for a visit!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review