Reviews for: St. Fairsted Farm

Average Review:

19 reviews



Fall 2010 CSA
By: Dana Barnett    (Nov 23, 2010)

This was my first of what I hope to be many seasons as a St. Fairsted Farm CSA basketeer. I cannot recommend participating in the St. Fairsted CSA program highly enough! This was a very rewarding experience. Every basket pickup day was almost as exciting as Christmas morning. :) Every week I looked forward to receiving my basket & seeing what goodies I'd get to try that week. The produce was always fresh, tasty, and very plentiful. The eggs were good, too! Quite honestly, I wasn't expecting to receive that much food. The baskets were always abundantly packed. The weekly newsletters were entertaining & always included recipes to try. I am overly pleased with my experience with St. Fairsted Farm and would encourage anyone to give this farm the opportunity to feed them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Amazing produce
By: Debbie Parks    (Jul 9, 2010)

I have been a part of the CSA for 2 seasons and cannot say enough about: 1. The variety of the produce including varieties I have never heard of! 2. The freshness of the produce-you can taste the dew! 3. The dedication and commitment to quality and service of Farmer Ang. Being a "basketeer" has been a very positive experience for me. The recipes Angela shares with us have all been phenomenal. Thank you Ang!!! Debbie Parks

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



St. Fairsted
By: Gloria Campos-Hensley    (Jul 5, 2010)

Taking home a CSA basket from Angela is always a tasty surprise filled with a variety of fresh vegetables (sometimes fruits) The foods in the basket this year that stand out the most to me are the blueberries, the super tiny but super sweet and juicy peaches and my all time favorite the spaghetti squash. I had never ever had Spaghetti Squash before this year. I was happy I finally did. The flavor and texture of this Spaghetti squash are wonderful. I can't wait to have more of it. My kids loved it too.

This fall, I look forward to more tasty surprises from St Fairsted. I also look forward to Angela's kindness towards her basketeers. I love that she really cares if her basketeers are happy with what she puts inside the baskets or not. She√ʬ?¬?s not a take it or leave it kind of person. She loves feedback. She also loves to communicate with us about the weather, the farm, and from time to time she√ʬ?¬?ll send a recipe with the CSA newsletter.

This why I keep going back.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



We have learned to LOVE what a CSA is all about!
By: Teresa Scott    (Jun 18, 2010)

I read the other reviews -- they are right in both the pros and the cons.

Problems: Initial communication with the farm is difficult. I think Ang is one busy lady. Contrary to popular opinion, I believe that farming folk are NOT laid back and relaxed, but rather VERY hard working people. They are tied to their jobs 24/7, and the weather holds them ransom. So it's pretty much a surprise to us each season as to WHEN the 6 weeks starts. Don't worry, if you are a basketeer, she'll email you at least a week ahead of time.

Positives: My goodness, the fresh veggies are yummy! And Ang has introduced us to veggies we had never tried before -- turnips, collard greens, arugula -- because we had heard they had bad reputations for being bitter -- as well as veggies we have never HEARD of -- like the 8 ball squash. Well Ang has changed our mind. It's not the veggies that have the problem. It's how old they are when they are picked, or how old they are AFTER they've been picked by the time you eat them. Ang appears to know EXACTLY when to pick them so they are ripe but not bitter, and if you eat them right away, they can be downright amazing!

We've been members of this CSA for 2 seasons now, and are eager to do it again. Every week is a surprise -- we have no idea what is coming, and opening the basket is like a Christmas present. We are looking forward wth eager anticipation to the fall season, since there will be no summer season this year.

Thanks, Ang!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



surprise goodies
By: Maria Bohnert    (Jun 18, 2010)

I've been a CSA member for several years and what Iike best is the surprise goodies Angela puts in our baskets. Like berries, eggs... Thursdays, basket delivery days, are a real treat.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A worthwhile membership
By: Lea Harkrider    (Jun 17, 2010)

I've been a member of this CSA for about a year, and it's been very worthwhile. The produce is fresh and in good condition, the variety is generally good. I usually don't even bother getting any produce at the store once the farm starts delivering! Everything tastes so good, it is sinful.

I also love getting pastured eggs in my basket - my two kids enjoy looking at the different colored shells. I'm spoiled for store bought eggs after getting these - they taste so much better, and the color of the yolks is amazing - usually a deep pumpkin color. It actually gives a golden hue to anything I bake with them as well!

Communication with the farm seems erratic at first, but Angela is very fast at returning emails and calls. I usually don't wait for a call back for more than an hour or so, and emails are returned the same day. She is also great at working with you - I forgot to pick up my basket two weeks in a row once (please don't ask where my brain was for those two weeks!) and when she found out I had simply forgotten, she arranged my previous spring-only CSA to a spring/fall membership so I could get some baskets in the fall.

All in all, it's been a good partnership with the farm.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Always Top Quality
By: Nancy Colville    (Jun 16, 2010)

I have been with St. Fairsted Farm for several years now and each year the produce has always been top quality. Though the weather over the last few seasons has made things difficult for any farmer, St. Fairsted Farm never gave up, fighting the elements to ensure its customers the produce they desired. I can think of no negative aspects of dealing with the farm, Ang is a honest and dedicated farmer.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Just keeps getting better!
By: Maria Jackson    (Jun 15, 2010)

This was my 3rd season with Ang's CSA program. This year was a true test of the CSA concept that basketeers ride the risk rollercoaster with their farmer. It was well worth the wait, however. She still manages to surprise us with different varieties of unusual vegetables, along with the good old standards. Quality never fails (if it's not top quality, it doesn't go in the basket!)

Since there won't be a Summer basket program at Fairsted Farm, I'll be a regular at her farm stand! If you're still on the fence about trying out the CSA program at Fairsted, I urge you to swing by the farm stand and pick up some of her produce to try out!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review