Reviews for: Breezy Willow Farm

Average Review:

23 reviews



Excellent
By: Michelle Domangue    (May 30, 2017)

We have just finished our third year as participants in Breezy Willow Farm's early-season CSA (March to May). We keep returning because the quality is high and the owners and staff are very accommodating. We're about to take the plunge and sign up for the regular season so that we don't have to miss out on more excellent produce!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best CSA out there!
By:    (Feb 12, 2016)

I have been a Breezy Willow customer for years and I can tell you that it is THE best CSA around, if you are interested in locally grown organic produce. Each weekly share contains a variety of fruits and veggies along with a dozen eggs and a loaf of bread! The amount of food provided each week is easily more than enough to feed a family of four, and always contains a colorful assortment of items. The broccoli, tomatoes, and corn in the summer are incredible. There is nothing better than knowing where the food that you are feeding your family is coming from, and supporting local business at the same time. The Caulders are a wonderful family who take the time to know their customers, and show their appreciation by including special items once a month in your share. If you need to supplement your fruits and veggies with local meat and other local items, such as ice cream, cheese, and much more, the farm store has it all. I cannot recommend Breezy Willow farm highly enough!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Still in Love
By: Jules Rolfe    (Feb 12, 2016)

I posted a review for Breezy Willow in 2011. It's 2016 and lots have things have changed. What's stayed the same is the quality of food and the sense of community we feel when we are with Breezy Willow.

Breezy Willow has a well rounded offering of fruits and vegetables as well as bread and eggs. I dread the winter months when I actually need to go to the grocery store. For me, the CSA is a time saver because I don't spend 30 minutes choosing the best produce and standing in the check out line.

Three years ago, I had the opportunity to become a work share, and I've had some exposure to nearly all the parts of the farm from picking to greeting CSA members at nearly every single pick-up location.

It's a joy to meet so many people passionate about where their food comes from, watch babies be born and grow, and share cooking tips. The Caulder family continues to create family and community where ever they show up.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First CSA Experience a Huge Success
By:    (May 19, 2015)

This was the first time I finally decided to participate in a local CSA. After looking around, I decided on Breezy Willow Farm because of the variety of both fruit and veggies and I loved the weekly allotment of eggs and bread choice! My grocery bill was a quarter of what it usually is and my weekly trip turned into every other week for essentials.

Not only does Breezy Willow Farm offer the fresh food, they make sure that every week you know a few days in advance what is coming AND find you delicious, new recipes to try! This makes hating beats very, very difficult! :-)

One week I couldn't pick up my allotment so went out to the farm to pick it up on Saturday. JOY! They had my stash ready and it was as fresh as could be!

LOVED this experience and have signed up for summer!

One more thing, the shares are very generous! We are a small family and I had so much food each week I was able to share with a local family in need. Grateful, Eating Healthier and Happy!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A great experiance.
By: Debbie Jenkins    (Mar 10, 2014)

We love all of their products. It's also a lot of fun to see children getting a chance to see the many different animals that they have. The Caulder's really go the extra mile with many little things that add up like popsicles for the children on hot summer days. Makes for a lovely way to spend time with or without children.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Extremely Satisfied, Very "Senior" Citizen!
By: Dorothy Kelley    (Mar 10, 2014)

Having participated in Breezy Willow Farm CSA for the past year, after having been away from Maryland since 2003, I want to heartily "ditto" all the reviews posted.

Before moving from Maryland, I had gardened in Baltimore County for about 20 or 25 years, growing many vegetables and some berries, plus lots of flowers. My growing practices were "organic" before the word became the "in" way to garden.

Since I mostly cook for one person now, I can attest to the fact that using the fresh, organic foods from Breezy Willow saves me money - the greens (lettuce, spinach, etc). last me at least twice as long with no spoilage, as the same grocery store-bought items.

Another Benefit of Sustainable Practices - Less Waste!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Thrilled with Breezy Willow's CSA
By: Donna Sudbrook    (Mar 4, 2014)

My family of 4 has been a part of the Breezy Willow farm's June - November CSA for 3 of the past 4 years. Great service, great fruits and vegetables, great eggs, great bread, great extras like Strawberry Butter jam and Apple Butter ... I always get the feeling that they are working overtime to make their CSA experience an excellent one.

Even though I am a bare minimum cook, the CSA is helping us move to much healthier eating. I've heard it said that "you either pay more for your food or more for your health care". I love knowing that there are no GMOs, no crazy use of pesticides, heritage seeds, good farming practices, etc.. etc.. However, I think we are saving money overall by eating our CSA food and not eating out.

It is amazing how very good fresh vegetables taste. It is also giving my children, my husband and I great exposure to a few new vegetables along with the favorites.

This year we are also trying out their Early Bird (March - May) CSA.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Debbie Jenkins says:    (Mar 10, 2014)

We feel the same. The Caulder's go way out of their way to meet their customers needs.The recipes are also very helpful!



Affordable, convenient, and AWESOME!
By: Jonathan & Kanchana Brinkley    (May 8, 2013)

My hubby and I joined the Breezy Willow CSA in the summer of 2012 upon excellent commendation from our neighbours. They strive to consistently provide a diverse array of wholesome foods each week, which is both economical, fresh & boldly flavoursome! The team at Breezy Willow, namely: Ken, RJ, Casey, and Jason are so pleasant to deal with and it's certainly a bonus to know that my produce comes from people who care about what they're selling. An added benefit of going to the farm is that you get to greet the farm animals: alpacas, sheep, chickens, and the dogs - and you can also choose to purchase other items such as ice cream, meats, yoghurts, cheese, jams, honey, soaps, lotions, scarves, gloves, and even jewellery! I would highly recommend Breezy Willow CSA!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review