Reviews for: Little Farm Stand

Average Review:

6 reviews



Very Disheartened and Disappointed
By: Local Farm Lover    (May 28, 2020)

I have been anticipating Little Farm Stand dropping off my food for weeks. Amid COVID, I thought this would be the safest way for me to get some food while supporting local farms, which I try to do. But on drop off day, Little Farm Stand failed to communicate with me. They were also dismissive of my concerns. I could not believe it. Our communications have always been courteous up until their delivery person failed to call me to tell me my food was dropped off. I had no heads up at all for this drop off. There was a text only after they left the food exposed to the public risking exposure to people walking by who may or may not have touched it with unwashed hands. I feel as though this could put me at risk. I am very disappointed with a farm that I otherwise thought was friendly and looked out for the best interest of its customers.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Very Disheartened and Disappointed
By: Local Farm Lover    (May 28, 2020)

I have been anticipating Little Farm Stand dropping off my food for weeks. Amid COVID, I thought this would be the safest way for me to get some food while supporting local farms, which I try to do. But on drop off day, Little Farm Stand failed to communicate with me. The also dismissive of my concerns. I could not believe it. Our communications have always been courteous up until their delivery person failed to call me to tell me my food was dropped off. I had no heads up at all for this drop off. There was a text only after they left the food exposed to the public risking exposure to people walking by who may or may not have touched it with unwashed hands. I feel as though this could put me at risk. And I am very disappointed with a farm that I otherwise thought was friendly and looked out for the best interest of its customers.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Very bad experience - don't recommend!
By: Jason Patinkin    (May 28, 2020)

I live in Washington DC. I was excited to be a part of Little Farm Stand. It looked like the perfect CSA with high quality, local organic produce - a welcome alternative to industrial food and corporate grocery delivery.

My building's front desk doesn't accept food deliveries, so Little Farm Stand agreed to call me when they pulled up so I could come down and pick up the food curbside. We've done the same with plenty of other grocery deliveries including from other farms. However, they never called. They just dropped off the produce in a public space and sent me a text after they left. By the time I saw the text and went downstairs, the food was gone. Someone else had taken it.

When I asked LFS about this, they changed their story and said their drivers can't call before delivery, so we should cancel my membership. I'm still waiting for a refund for the food they just dropped off. Terrible customer service that I didn't expect from a farm that claims to live by local, organic values.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Local Farm Lover says:    (May 28, 2020)

I had the same exact experience. They need to professionalize their drop offs. I am left disappointed.

KDMacDC says:    (Jun 19, 2020)

KDMacDC says:    (Jun 19, 2020)

Let's take a minute to think about how this could work better in these social distancing times. The first question I would ask is what does CSA stand for? I posit that it stands for Community Supported Agriculture, which really says it all. CSA is about people choosing humane & sustainable living, and investing in their local food growers rather than supporting middlepersons and agribusiness. I have been in CSA's for several decades. In early days, the farmer dropped off the week's haul and members took turns dividing it up into shares for everyone. Now they do the packing, but it is still community. While it is great to see lots of people who were not interested in local food sustainability now signing up, it is a shame that some of us are bringing a concierge mentality rather than becoming involved. Farmers work very, very hard. And delivering all these shares is very hard, and also difficult to avoid exposure to COVID19. Let's try connecting with our farmers. Pave the way so that it is easier to make safe deliveries to your building. Or better still, sign on for one of the open air drop offs that save our farmers tons of time. Let's make this work for all of us. Be kind and try to understand the social commitment invoved in CSA's.



Absolutely Wonderful!
By: Edward Baten    (Sep 23, 2014)

My wife and I have been shopping at the Little Farm Stand in SW since the summer of 2012. Their produce is of the highest quality. Last year we joined their CSA program. This is now our second season. We are very satisfied! Not only is the produce great, Lori's pies are off the hook. We love the peach and apple pies.

You wont be disappointed!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Flats of BlueBerries & Half Bushels of Honey Crisp Apples
By: Elizabeth Baumgarten    (Sep 23, 2014)

The LittleFarmStand has some of the most reasonable farmers market(prices) in Washington DC. I have been to farmers markets all over the DC area, Dupont, Eastern Market and Union Market, but none of them have better pricing than the LittleFarmStand. I've purchased regular red field tomatoes @ $1.00lb, heirloom tomatoes @ $2.00lb and 6 large peaches for $5.00. Their prices are so GREAT, that I have even had "Flats of Blueberries & Half Bushels of Honey Crisp Apples" delivered right to my doorstep with FREE DELIVERY:)

This Farm Program is the best! I am definitely joining again...

**Happy Customer loving my bluberrie jam & apple butter**

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



BEST CSA in Washington DC (Free Delivery Included)
By: Jacob Stein    (Sep 15, 2014)

My wife and I have been very happy with our LittleFarmStand CSA share, it totally fits our "BUSY" lifestyle. They offer FREE DELIVERY to anywhere within Washington DC, so sometimes we have the share delivered to my DC office or my wife will leave a chilled cooler on our front porch to receive our delivery.

When we do not want to use the free delivery option, we just go pick-up our CSA share at one of their DC FarmStand locations.

The LittleFarmStand has one of the most flexible CSA programs in the city, no wonder they were Washington DC's first farmstand. Their CSA Program totally makes sense.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review