Reviews for: Refining Fire Chiles

Average Review:

20 reviews



Good service, mostly good plants, one disappointment.
By: Nicholas Toledo    (Jul 6, 2019)

Ordered a few plants. Very satisfied with most of them except for my chocolate habanero who showed up looking a little worse for ware. started to seriously wilt and suffer shortly after arriving and quickly died after transplant.

Aside from that I am so far very satisfied with the quality of the plants despite the Habs unfortunate quick death. The plants came with great very detailed instructions, great tips for beginners or experienced Gardner's alike.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Superb opportunities to grow
By:    (May 12, 2018)

I have grown numerous types of chilis for years. I don't have access to my prior nursery provider. The site on Local Harvest has a great number of chilis to select from. The visual dislays and the data on this site are great. Aside from the chilis, I can't believe the number of tropical plants that they have available. I look forward to purchasing from Local Harvest. Thanks. Mike Feiler

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fast shipping, healthy plants!
By: Sarah Downer    (May 9, 2018)

I just received my order of the Sugar Rush Peach trio and I am very pleased. The plants arrived decently sized and healthy, and the seller threw in a couple of bonus chili plants that I haven't heard of and am excited to try out. Inside the package was also a thorough set of planting and hardening directions. Will be using this vendor again for sure.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Seeds arrived in a timely manner/good success germinating
By: Brian Hamilton    (Apr 9, 2018)

Most of the seeds sprouted in 5-8 days. Very vigorous plants. The Scotch Bonnet TFM, Naglah Red, Naga BBG7, Sepia Serpent, WreckingBall 7 and Scotch Brains are throwing out enormous leaves. Seeds were started on March 9th and as of today (April 9th) they are filling out 3.5 " pots real quick. Doubling in size every week. I will have to move them into 6"x 6" deep shuttle pots soon. I would order from Jim again.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A Summer of Padrons
By: MAUREEN BERNARD    (Dec 6, 2017)

These plants arrived healthy and at the right time of month for growing here in Southern Maryland. I followed the instructions and within a few weeks they were in my garden and growing quickly. Having recently spent a couple of months in Spain I was very much looking forward to these wonderful peppers and the plants did not disappoint me. We had an abundant of peppers all summer long right up until November. If you love padrons, don't hesitate to order these plants.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Dissapointing experience
By: Mark Holguin    (Aug 1, 2017)

My personal experience attempting to purchase healthy pepper plants from Refining Fire Chiles was disappointing to say the least. I was so excited to order my 6 pack of pepper plants. 8 plants did arrive - fairly quickly. I ordered them on May 10th and they arrived on May 18th. With great anticipation I opened the small box only to find several stunted, stressed and root-bound pepper plants. I immediately went to work to try to save these poor, sickly specimens. I prepared a half gallon solution of room temperature de-clorinated water with 2 tablespoons of worm castings. I handled them with care as they were shedding, withered and wilted leaves. I carefully planting them in a high quality potting mix. I soaked the pots with solution and hoped for the best. Two of the little sickly plants did manage to pull through, but they are not what I ordered. I made several attempts to contact the owner by email and was not even acknowledged. Disappointing and unprofessional = ^ (

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

James Duffy says:    (Apr 14, 2018)

I never heard from you because Local Harvest sent all communications last year to my old E mail. Would be happy to take care of you free of charge this season. Please call my cell at 619-504-9777



Jim Duffy delivers
By: Jim Sugaroo    (Apr 20, 2017)

I have an update on my experience with Refining Fire Chilies. Jim Duffy has gone out of his way to resolve the issue of seed germination. In the end, its been a very positive experience doing business with Refining Fire Chilies. I guess they get a little busy in the spring (like the rest of us) and it may be better to call them if you have an issue.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Refining Fire Chiles
By:    (Apr 13, 2017)

I ordered two types of pepper seeds from Refining Fire Chilies. The seeds had a less than 25% germination rate after 6 weeks. In comparison, seeds from several other vendors grown under the same conditions had greater than 90% germination rate.

I notified Refining Fire Chilies and complained of low vitality of their seeds. I've contacted them four times and asked them what they would like to do. Of the four attempts to contact Refining Fire Chilies I received one response where I was promised replacement seed. But replacement seed has never arrived after 3+ weeks and I'm missing a growing season window. I don't think I'll receive viable seed from Refining Fire Chilies and will never do business with them again.

Maybe Refining Fire Chilies should change their name to Refining Fraud Chilies with such poor germination rates and poor customer service.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jim Sugaroo says:    (Apr 20, 2017)

I have an update on my experience with Refining Fire Chilies. Jim Duffy has gone out of his way to resolve the issue of seed germination. In the end, its been a very positive experience doing business with Refining Fire Chilies. I guess they get a little busy in the spring (like the rest of us) and it may be better to call them if you have an issue.