Reviews for: Even' Star Organic Farm

Average Review:

24 reviews



Yummiest food ever!
By: David Sears    (Nov 28, 2020)

Wow! My wife and I discovered this fantastic CSA about 14-15 years ago! The Even Star produce has changed our approach to eating and doubled our enjoyment of our meals! The produce is always super fresh! Brett offers simple but excellent ideas for cooking and serving many of his goods, which means we can have something more delicious than possible if we had to figure it out on our own. The familiar items (e.g., tomatoes, strawberries) are really yummy. Even more fun, Even Star has introduced us to new foods (e.g., tomatillos, peachy mama peppers) which are now our favorites! We have done the "box delivered to our neighborhood" alternative; and we have done the "go to the Saturday market at Lafayette school" option -- both are recommended. In sum, good health to Even Star Farm and great eating for us! Very satisfied customers, Dave (& Sara) Bethesda MD

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Outstanding quality and care of CSA members
By: Katie K    (Aug 11, 2020)

Even Star Farm earns the 5 star review I am giving, hands down. My family has lived around the world due to military service, and we know something excellent when we find it because we have seen so much already. Even Star Farm has taken ABOVE AND BEYOND measures to protect their members from COVID, they care about the community as a whole, they publish amazing recipes and excellent information on how to use all that they grow, and on top of all that they have the highest quality products found anywhere locally. If you want to belong to a community of people who will support you in a genuine and caring way as if you were family, offering the highest quality foods to help support your immune system, join Even Star CSA.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Happy New Summer CSA Member
By: Laura Rich    (Aug 8, 2020)

I am a new member of the Even' Star Summer CSA and am so glad I signed up. Their fruits and vegetables are extremely good. Plus, you get great cooking tips! I feel very lucky that I am able to provide such delicious, healthy food to my family.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



love the winter farm boxes!
By: Elizabeth Hanlon    (Oct 22, 2018)

The gorgeous array of wintertime greens and the luscious fresh eggs (with thick, rich, orange yolks that have ruined the store-bought variety for us) keep us coming back year after year. Try it and you won't look back!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great combination of food and guidance
By:    (Apr 22, 2018)

We've been subscribers for a dozen years now and have been consistently pleased with the total package of high-quality food and truly expert and relevant advice and recipes for getting the most out of the produce. It really helps to have such specific suggestions, especially as you get to try foods with which you may not be familiar!

We'll keep coming back and encourage you to give it a try.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful vegetables (and now meat, too), wonderful service
By: Kaili Mang Jeyarajah    (Apr 10, 2018)

We have been subscribed to Even' Star for many years now and will continue for many more. Especially interesting is the winter share. Brett cultivates and grows an unusual and delicious selection of hardy greens that we have come to rely on for good taste thoughout the cold months. The eggs are so good, and even better because his chickens live a truly free life. Lately they started a meat share, which has been unparalleled for taste, and again, we can eat with an easy conscience knowing that their animals live a truly good life in service of our meal. The boxed CSA has forced us to learn to think outside our cooking traditions and to be in sync with the seasons. It's been a wonderful experience for us and we recommend it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Outstanding organic produce!
By: Catherine Hess    (Mar 13, 2018)

Growing my own greens and herbs totally spoiled me for storebought stuff, and the salad mix, assorted young greens, and herbs from Even' Star Organic Farm CSA are just as good as I'd pick fresh from my yard, but the variety is way better than I will ever have space for.

Everything is delivered nice and neat with emailed advice on further preparation for use and suggestions for the best culinary uses. If you love greens year-round, you must get a winter subscription, end of discussion. (I'll leave another review once I experience a summer subscription.) I usually get an anemic-feeling craving for fresh veggies in late winter, but instead I feel pumped up with vitamins this year.

There are other goodies, too, like root vegetables, canned tomato sauce, and jam to get you through the cold months. There is even convenient pick-up at the nearby My Organic Market.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great food, great cooking tips
By: Isabel Kaldenbach    (Feb 27, 2018)

Over the years of subscribing to both summer and winter plans, I have not only vastly improved my diet, cut down on trips to the supermarket, but have also expanded my palate. Who knew Jerusalem Artichokes were so good? And that radishes aren't just little red bulbs with white insides? Plus - greens are more than lettuce and spinach? A big plus is the cooking tips/cookbooks Brett makes available.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review